The Essential Stan Getz: The Getz Songbook

The Essential Stan Getz: The Getz Songbook

by Stan Getz


$12.79 $13.99 Save 9% Current price is $12.79, Original price is $13.99. You Save 9%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, January 31
10 New & Used Starting at $1.99


Aside from the rather horrid Bevis & Butthead cartoon rendering on the album cover, this is a tasteful compilation of tenor saxophonist Stan Getz in his mellower mood. Seven of the tracks are ballads, two of those with a big band and strings, while ten are small-group sessions. Also included are three of his premier Brazilian numbers: "Bahia," "Corcovado," and "The Girl from Ipanema" with Astrud and João Gilberto. The warm sound of Getz is obviously prominent, even on the three more energetic swingers, including the bopping "Of Thee I Sing." While far from a complete overview of the career of Getz, especially due to the exclusion of his early-years material, this would be an excellent CD with which to cozy up by the fire with your sweetheart and let the music melt into the both of you.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/03/1992
Label: Polygram Records
UPC: 0731451717123
catalogNumber: 517171
Rank: 38412

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Stan Getz   Primary Artist,Tenor Saxophone
Mose Allison   Piano
Charlie Byrd   Guitar
Herb Ellis   Guitar
Astrud Gilberto   Vocals,Valve Clarinet
João Gilberto   Guitar,Vocals,Valve Clarinet
Dave Hildinger   Vibes
Duke Jordan   Piano
Shelly Manne   Drums
Oscar Peterson   Piano
Jimmy Raney   Guitar
Russell Garcia   Conductor
Jan Johansson   Piano
Lou Levy   Piano
Connie Kay   Drums
George Duvivier   Bass
Milton Banana   Percussion
Keter Betts   Bass
Ray Brown   Bass
Kenny Burrell   Guitar
Claus Ogerman   Conductor
Bill Crow   Bass
Buddy Deppenschmidt   Drums
Fred Dutton   Bass
Addison Farmer   Bass
Frank Isola   Drums
Antonio Carlos Jobim   Piano
Jerry Segal   Drums
Leroy Vinnegar   Bass
Gene Byrd   Guitar
Tommy Williams   Bass
Blanchie Birdsong   Harp
Sperie Karas   Drums
Bill Reichenbach   Percussion

Technical Credits

Vinícius de Moraes   Composer
Herb Ellis   Composer
Russell Garcia   Arranger
Claus Ogerman   Arranger
Addison Farmer   Contributor
Norman Gimbel   Composer
Antonio Carlos Jobim   Composer
Michael Lang   Contributor
Laura Levine   Artwork
Benjamin V. Franklin   Liner Notes
Alli Truch   Art Direction
John Blackburn   Composer
Lou Carter   Composer
Karl Suessdorf   Composer
John Freigo   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews