The Essential Roy Acuff [Columbia]

The Essential Roy Acuff [Columbia]

by Roy AcuffRoy Acuff


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Roy Acuff is a pivotal figure in country music, standing clearly at the crossroads of what had been termed hillbilly music and what would soon become modern country. A no more than adequate singer and fiddle player, Acuff still managed to hit just the right tone of sincerity with his spare and simple songs (most of which were carefully chosen covers), making him one of the first real stars of country music. This brief collection has his biggest hits, including the classic original versions of Reverend Guy Smith's "Great Speckled Bird," A.P. Carter's "Wabash Cannonball" (although actually sung by Dynamite Hatcher, one of the members of the backing band, "Cannonball" became Acuff's signature tune), and Dorsey Dixon's powerful and maudlin "Wreck on the Highway." Acuff's importance to the history of country music is huge, as much for his business and marketing acumen (which is still a viable career template for young stars today) as for his songs. Casual listeners will find this the perfect introduction to the first country superstar.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/07/2004
Label: Sony
UPC: 0827969090626
catalogNumber: 90906
Rank: 81564

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Roy Acuff   Primary Artist,Fiddle,Vocals,Group Member
Bashful Brother Oswald   Banjo,Dobro
Red Jones   String Bass,Group Member
Jimmy Riddle   Accordion,Group Member
Lonnie Wilson   Guitar
Joe Zinkan   String Bass,Group Member
Tommy Magness   Fiddle,Group Member
Jess Easterday   Guitar,Mandolin,String Bass,Group Member
Clell Summey   Steel Guitar,Group Member
Velma Williams   String Bass,Group Member
Lonnie "Pap" Wilson   Guitar,Group Member
Beecher "Pete" "Bashful Brother Oswald" Kirby   Banjo,Dobro,Group Member
Golden Stewart   Group Member
Francis Tambourin   Group Member
Clell "Cousin Jody" Sumney   Steel Guitar

Technical Credits

Roy Acuff   Arranger,Composer
Pee Wee King   Composer
Redd Stewart   Composer
Art Satherley   Audio Production
Owen Bradley   Composer
A.P. Carter   Composer
Dorsey M. Dixon   Composer
Fred Rose   Composer
B. Smith   Composer
Hank Williams   Composer
Marvin Hughes   Composer
Rich Kienzle   Liner Notes
John Lair   Composer
Howard Fritzson   Art Direction

Customer Reviews