The Essential R. Kelly

The Essential R. Kelly

by R. KellyR. Kelly


$16.91 $17.99 Save 6% Current price is $16.91, Original price is $17.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, April 19


Over the course of the period covered here, 1991-2012, R. Kelly produced a varied and substantial back catalog -- one that can't be neatly summarized in two discs. Even if The Essential R. Kelly played it straight and included only his solo Top 20 R&B singles, it wouldn't be more representative. Since Kelly's work is so broad, ranging from traditional soul and adult contemporary to outlandish contemporary R&B, one would be better off assembling her/his own set of favorites on a track-by-track basis. This does provide an adequate sampling of Kelly's best work, including "She's Got That Vibe," "Bump N' Grind," "Ignition," "Step in the Name of Love," and "Feelin' Single." Its track list is significantly different compared to that of The World's Greatest, released in the U.K. in 2011, yet both sets are of roughly equal value.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/19/2014
Label: Jive
UPC: 0887654445025
catalogNumber: 544450
Rank: 7409


Disc 1

  1. She's Got That Vibe
  2. Honey Love
  3. Slow Dance (Hey Mr. DJ)
  4. Sex Me, Pt. 1
  5. Bump n' Grind
  6. Your Body's Callin'
  7. You Remind Me of Something
  8. Down Low (Nobody Has to Know)
  9. I Can't Sleep Baby (If I)
  10. I Believe I Can Fly
  11. #!*@ You Tonight
  12. Gotham City
  13. Be Careful
  14. When a Woman's Fed Up
  15. Did You Ever Think
  16. If I Could Turn Back the Hands of Time
  17. I'm Your Angel

Disc 2

  1. I Wish
  2. Feelin' on Yo Booty
  3. The World's Greatest
  4. Ignition
  5. Thoia Thoing
  6. Step in the Name of Love
  7. Hotel
  8. Happy People
  9. Wonderful
  10. In the Kitchen
  11. Trapped in the Closet (Chapter 1)
  12. I'm a Flirt
  13. Same Girl
  14. Number One
  15. When a Woman Loves
  16. Love Letter
  17. Feelin' Single
  18. U Saved Me

Album Credits

Performance Credits

R. Kelly   Primary Artist,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals
Ernie Isley   Guitar
Yvonne Gage   Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Tawatha Agee   Background Vocals
Percy Bady   Keyboards
Bobby Broom   Guitar
Lafayette Carthon   Conductor,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Jeff Chestek   Horn Engineer
Larry Gold   Conductor
Diva Gray   Background Vocals
Keith Henderson   Guitar
Loris Holland   Conductor,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Hammond B3
Hart Hollman   Leader
Ronald Isley   Vocals
Donnie Lyle   Bass,Guitar,Bass Guitar
Paulette McWilliams   Background Vocals
Rob Mathes   Conductor
Jeffrey Morrow   Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Anthony Ransom   Background Vocals
Paul Riser   Strings,Conductor
Johnny Rutledge   Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Steve Skinner   Keyboards
Jim Slattery   Keyboards
Allan "Byrd" Tatum   Background Vocals
Fonzi Thornton   Background Vocals
Rob Trow   Background Vocals
Joan Walton   Background Vocals
Spencer Washington   Background Vocals
Cheryl Wilson   Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Robert Moe   Background Vocals
Tone   Rap
Lisa Lougheed   Background Vocals
Bobby West   Keyboards
Stevie Robinson   Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Nancey Jackson   Background Vocals
Joan Collaso   Choir, Chorus
Olga Konopelsky   Violin
Gregory Teperman   Violin
Carl Robinson   Horn Engineer
Sparkle   Background Vocals
Motown Romance String Orchestra   Strings,Performing Ensemble
Greg Landfair   Guitar
Robert Bowker   Background Vocals
Troy Bright   Background Vocals
Strings   Rap
Cathy Richardson   Background Vocals
Paul Mabin   Choir, Chorus
Rodney East   Keyboards
Felicia Coleman Evans   Choir, Chorus
Bruce Kelly   Background Vocals
Latasha Jordon   Background Vocals
Lori Holton Nash   Choir, Chorus
Ghislaine Fleischmann   Violin
Lauren Pilot   Choir, Chorus
Bill Hornibrook   Guitar
Devin B. Thompson   Choir, Chorus
Carl Cox   Tenor Saxophone
Robin Robinson   Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Hart Hollman & The Motown Romance Orchestra   Performing Ensemble
Bigg Makk   Bass,Keyboards
Eliza Cho   Violin
Jesús Morales   Celli
Carlos Rubio   Violin
Simbryt Whittington   Choir, Chorus
Siete   Guitar
James Cooper   Celli
Dennis Collins   Background Vocals
Jonathan Kim   Viola
Ayana George   Background Vocals
Kendell Nesbitt   Keyboards
Luigi Mazzochi   Violin
Daniel Wright   Trumpet
Elizabeth Withers   Background Vocals
Davis Bennett   Viola
"Dee" Deleatrice Alexander   Choir, Chorus
Steve Tripak   Trombone
Sonya Feank   Choir, Chorus
Luv Club Choir   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Curtis Mayfield   Composer
Roy Hamilton   Composer
Lee   Programming,drum programming
Tony Black   Programming,Engineer
Bernard Edwards   Composer
Nile Rodgers   Composer
Tom Thumb   Vocal Producer
R. Kelly   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Producer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements,Remixing,Instrumentation,Drum Arrangements
Timmy Allen   Programming,Additional Production
Percy Bady   Director
S. Barnes   Composer
Jimmy Bralower   drum programming
Bob Cadway   Engineer
Sean "Puffy" Combs   Composer,Producer
Humberto Gatica   Engineer
Larry Gold   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Marshall Jefferson   Composer
James Lee   Engineer
Rob Mathes   Arranger
Peter Mokran   Programming,Engineer
J. Olivier   Composer
Paul Riser   Orchestration,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Michael Schlesinger   Engineer
Steve Skinner   drum programming
Allan "Byrd" Tatum   Programming
Chris Trevett   Engineer
Doug Wilson   Engineer
Mario Winans   drum programming
Tyrone Blatcher   Composer
Tone   Producer
Stan Wood   Programming,Engineer
Stephen George   Programming,Engineer,Vocal Producer
Mark Larson   Art Direction
K. Smith   Composer
Stevie J.   Instrumentation
Charles "Prince Charles" Alexander   Engineer
Poke   Producer
Jason Goldstein   Engineer
Barry Hankerson   Composer
Lane Craven   Engineer
Chris Brickley   Programming,Engineer
Irv Gotti   Producer,Executive Producer
Daron Jones   Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Carl Robinson   Engineer
Steve Jones   Engineer
Chuck Bailey   Engineer
Irving Lorenzo   Composer
Abel Garibaldi   Programming,Engineer
Joe Pererra   Engineer
Swizz Beatz   Producer
Christopher Wallace   Composer
Ja Rule   Composer,Executive Producer
Joey Fernandez   Engineer
Andy Gallas   Programming,Engineer
Ian Mereness   Programming,Engineer
Steve Bearsley   Programming,Engineer
Roy "Royalty" Hamilton   Producer
John Hanes   Engineer,Pro-Tools
Kasseem Dean   Composer
Jason Mlodzinski   Engineer
Nathan Wheeler   Engineer
Dru Castro   Engineer
Jimi Kendrix   Producer
Ari Raskin   Vocal Engineer
Eric Custer   Legal Counsel
Lil Ronnie   Composer,Producer
Keri Hilson   Composer
Randee St. Nicholas   Cover Photo,Back Cover Photo
Coran Capshaw   Management
Milwaukee "Protools King" Buck   Engineer
Jeff Meeks   Programming,Engineer
Michael Clark   Vocal Producer
Teddy Penderazdoun   Engineer
Bigg Makk   Programming,Producer
Jeff Edwards   Engineer
James "Scrappy" Stassen   Engineer
Kristen Foster   Publicity
J. Smith   Composer
Josh Shapera   Engineer
Raphael Hamilton   Composer,Producer
Barry Reese   Composer
S. Moss   Composer
Rich Travali   Engineer
Dorrell Mays   Composer
Elliot Carter   Engineer
Chiquita Oden   grooming
Laurence Marks   Legal Counsel
Jordan Bromley   Legal Counsel
Clifford Joseph Harris   Composer
Jordan Yospe   Legal Counsel
Derrel McDavid   Management
Fahim Najm   Composer
Jonathan Azu   Management
Theola Borden   Publicity
Keith Murphy   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews