Get a $10 Gift Card When You Buy $100 or More in B&N Gift Cards
The Essential James Taylor [Sony]

The Essential James Taylor [Sony]

by James Taylor James Taylor
The Essential James Taylor [Sony]

The Essential James Taylor [Sony]

by James Taylor James Taylor


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, December 2


The 2013 double-disc anthology The Essential James Taylor brings together most of the influential singer/songwriter's best-loved recordings from across his 45-year career. Included are such cuts as "Fire and Rain," "You've Got a Friend," "How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved by You)," "Something in the Way She Moves," and other classics. Also featured are many latter-day recordings such as "Her Town Too," "Everyday," "Never Die Young," "My Traveling Star," and more. The Essential James Taylor offers a superb overview of Taylor's career from earthy folk-singer and journeyman troubadour to elder statesman of traditional pop music.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/29/2013
Label: Sony
UPC: 0888837776929
catalogNumber: 377769
Rank: 23163


Disc 1

  1. Sweet Baby James
  2. Fire and Rain
  3. Long Ago and Far Away
  4. You've Got a Friend
  5. Don't Let Me Be Lonely Tonight
  6. Walking Man
  7. How Sweet It is (To Be Loved By You)
  8. Mexico
  9. Shower the People
  10. Steamroller
  11. Something In the Way She Moves
  12. Carolina In My Mind
  13. Handy Man
  14. Your Smiling Face
  15. Honey Don't Leave L.A.

Disc 2

  1. Millworker
  2. Her Town Too
  3. Everyday
  4. Only One
  5. Never Die Young
  6. Copperline
  7. The Water is Wide
  8. Country Road
  9. Secret O' Life
  10. Little More Time With You
  11. Another Day
  12. Hard Times Come Again No More
  13. Caroline I See You
  14. My Traveling Star
  15. You Can Close Your Eyes

Album Credits

Performance Credits

James Taylor   Primary Artist
Edgar Meyer   Guest Appearance
Yo-Yo Ma   Guest Appearance
Mark O'Connor   Guest Appearance
Tanglewood Festival Chorus   Guest Appearance

Technical Credits

Carole King   Composer
James Taylor   Composer,Producer,Original Album Producer
Don Grolnick   Composer,Producer,Original Album Producer
Norman Petty   Composer
Otis Blackwell   Composer
Peter Asher   Producer,Original Album Producer
Lamont Dozier   Composer
Frank Filipetti   Composer,Producer,Original Album Producer
Lynn Goldsmith   Insert Photography
Eddie Holland   Composer
Brian Holland   Composer
Danny Kortchmar   Composer
George Massenburg   Producer,Original Album Producer
J.D. Souther   Composer
David Spinozza   Producer,Original Album Producer
Russ Titelman   Producer,Original Album Producer
Lenny Waronker   Producer,Original Album Producer
Waddy Wachtel   Composer
Anthony DeCurtis   Liner Notes
Norman Seeff   Insert Photography
Don Hunstein   Insert Photography
Mark Larson   Art Direction
Lee Crum   Cover Photo
Danny Clinch   Insert Photography
James O'Donnell   Producer
Steven Epstein   Producer,Original Album Producer
David O'Donnell   Original Album Producer
James O'Mara   Insert Photography

Customer Reviews