The Essential Going Back [Deluxe]

The Essential Going Back [Deluxe]

by Phil CollinsPhil Collins

CD(Special Edition)

$20.61 $21.99 Save 6% Current price is $20.61, Original price is $21.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


Like any baby boomer Phil Collins is no stranger to Motown. Arguably, he has a deeper connection than most, having scored a hit with a cover of the Supremes' "You Can't Hurry Love" back in 1982 and then proving he was adept at writing his own Tamla bounce with 1988's "Two Hearts," so devoting a full album to Motown songs is not a huge stretch, but 2010's Going Back -- his first studio album since 2002's Testify and only his fourth record since 1990 -- is nevertheless mildly surprising in its fidelity to its source material. Collins hired three of the surviving Funk Brothers as instrumental support and set about replicating a bunch of Motown classics -- 18 in its standard edition, a whopping 25 in its deluxe edition -- in a studio in Switzerland. Replication is not an exaggeration: these are not interpretations but re-creations of the original arrangements and productions, the only difference being Collins' vocals. He is too in love with the originals to change even tiny inflections but he's also enjoying the process of making music with some of his idols. For a listener, this can be a shared fun, particularly when Collins explores some of the lesser-known songs, like "Girl (Why You Wanna Make Me Blue)," "Some of Your Lovin'," "In My Lonely Room" and "Something About You." Most of Going Back is devoted to the tried and true, though, the hits that remain staples on oldies stations across the globe, and whenever Collins is singing "Heatwave," "Uptight," "Papa Was a Rolling Stone," "Jimmy Mack" or "Going to a Go-Go," the album inches away from being a labor of love and into pure nostalgia trip, but even then the album is pleasant enough that it's hard to complain. [Retitled The Essential Going Back, a 2016 Deluxe Edition comprised two CDs and 12 bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 06/10/2016
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227946470
catalogNumber: 554660


Disc 1

  1. Going Back
  2. Girl (Why You Wanna Make Me Blue)
  3. (Love Is Like A) Heatwave
  4. Some of Your Lovin’
  5. Going to a Go-Go
  6. Papa Was a Rolling Stone
  7. Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever
  8. Something About You
  9. Talkin’ About My Baby
  10. Do I Love You?
  11. Never Dreamed You’d Leave in Summer
  12. Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me For a Little While)
  13. Too Many Fish in the Sea
  14. Uptight (Everything’s Alright)

Disc 2

  1. Signed Sealed Delivered (I’m Yours) intro
  2. Ain’t Too Proud to Beg
  3. Girl (Why You Wanna Make Me Blue)
  4. Dancing in the Street
  5. (Love Is Like A) Heatwave
  6. Papa Was a Rolling Stone
  7. Never Dreamed You’d Leave in Summer
  8. Talkin’ About My Baby
  9. Do I Love You?
  10. Ain’t That Peculiar
  11. Too Many Fish in the Sea
  12. You Really Got a Hold on Me
  13. Something About You
  14. Uptight (Everything’s Alright)
  15. My Girl
  16. Going Back

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Phil Collins   Primary Artist,Organ,Bass,Percussion,Piano,Drums,Harp,Keyboards,Electric Piano,Vocals,Background Vocals,Hand Clapping,Finger Snapping
Jason Rebello   Piano,Vibes
Bob Babbitt   Bass
Guy Barker   Trumpet,Soloist
Ronnie Caryl   Acoustic Guitar
Lynne Fiddmont   Background Vocals
Connie Jackson   Background Vocals
Ray Monette   Guitar,wah wah guitar
Eddie Willis   Guitar
Mathew Collins   Hand Clapping,Finger Snapping
Scott Stroman   Conductor,Hand Clapping,Finger Snapping
John Aram   Trombone,Hand Clapping,Finger Snapping
Graeme Blevins   Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
Tom Rees-Roberts   Trumpet
Phil Todd   Flute,Piccolo,Baritone Saxophone,Soloist
PC Horns   Horn
Nicholas Collins   Hand Clapping,Finger Snapping
Steven "Pud" Jones   Hand Clapping,Finger Snapping

Technical Credits

Phil Collins   Arranger,Producer
Marvin Gaye   Composer
Carole King   Composer
Curtis Mayfield   Composer
Smokey Robinson   Composer
Gerry Goffin   Composer
Barrett Strong   Composer
Phil Spector   Composer
Peter Anders   Composer
Lee Garrett   Composer
Henry Cosby   Composer
Lamont Dozier   Composer
Eddie Holland   Composer
Brian Holland   Composer
Ivy Jo Hunter   Composer
Warren "Pete" Moore   Composer
Vini Poncia   Composer
William "Mickey" Stevenson   Composer
Norman Whitfield   Composer
Stevie Wonder   Composer
Syreeta Wright   Composer
Sylvia Moy   Composer
Ronald White   Composer
Robert Rogers   Composer
Lula Mae Hardaway   Composer
Scott Stroman   String Arrangements
Chris Peyton   Art Direction,Concept
Yvan Bing   Engineer
Mike Hosey   Artwork
John Aram   Direction

Customer Reviews