Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
The Essential Donovan [2012]

The Essential Donovan [2012]

The Essential Donovan [2012]

The Essential Donovan [2012]


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, February 14


Bearing the same name as the 2004 compilation The Essential Donovan and containing every one of that disc's 14 songs, the 2012 double-disc set The Essential Donovan -- its release timed to coincide with the singer/songwriter's induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame -- is perhaps better compared to the 1992 box Troubadour: The Definitive Collection, another two-CD set that delved deeply into Donovan's career. Troubadour contained 44 songs and The Essential Donovan tops out at 32, yet those 12 songs aren't necessarily missed. All the hits are here, along with a handful of rarities -- cuts that have never shown up on CD in the U.S., including an early mono version of "The Land of Doesn't Have to Be" and two songs, "Sunny Goodge Street" and "Sand and Foam," taken from a 1967 concert at the Anaheim Convention Center, plus "Hey Gyp (Dig the Slowness)" -- but what distinguishes this Essential from Troubadour is that it emphasizes Donovan's psychedelic mod hipster side over his wannabe Dylan folkie (the title of Troubadour was no accident on the 1992 set) and for audiences that prefer "Mellow Yellow," "Sunshine Superman," "Hurdy Gurdy Man," "Wear Your Love Like Heaven," "Jennifer Juniper," and "Barabajagal (Love Is Hot)" to "Catch the Wind," "Colours," and "Universal Soldier," this is the preferable collection.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/17/2012
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0886919586824
catalogNumber: 195868
Rank: 8672


Disc 1

  1. Catch the Wind
  2. Colours
  3. Summer Day Reflection Song
  4. Universal Soldier
  5. You're Gonna Need Somebody on Your Bond
  6. Turquoise
  7. Sunshine Superman
  8. The Trip
  9. Legend of a Girl Child Linda
  10. Season of the Witch
  11. Ferris Wheel
  12. Mellow Yellow
  13. Young Girl Blues
  14. Museum
  15. Hampstead Incident
  16. Sunny South Kensington
  17. The Land of Doesn't Have To Be
  18. Epistle to Dippy

Disc 2

  1. There is a Mountain
  2. Wear Your Love Like Heaven
  3. Sun
  4. Isle of Islay
  5. Sunny Godge Street
  6. Sand and Foam
  7. Jennifer Juniper
  8. Hurdy Gurdy Man
  9. Get Thy Bearings
  10. Lalena
  11. To Susan on the West Coast Waiting
  12. Atlantis
  13. Barabajagal (Love Is Hot)
  14. Happiness Runs
  15. Riki Tiki Tavi
  16. Celia of the Seals
  17. I Like You
  18. Hey Gyp (Dig the Slowness)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews