The Essential Dave Brubeck

The Essential Dave Brubeck

by Dave BrubeckDave Brubeck


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


It's hard to summarize the highlights of a career as long and prolific as Dave Brubeck's in a two-CD compilation. If you're going to settle for that, however, The Essential Dave Brubeck is a good job, spanning 1949 to 2002, with 76 minutes of music on each disc. Although a few of these tracks were drawn from his early Fantasy recordings and his later Concord/MusicMasters/Telarc discs, the overwhelming bulk of them come from his days at Columbia from the mid-'50s through the late '60s. "Take Five" is here, of course, as are some of his better- known recordings, like "Blue Rondo a La Turk," "Take the 'A' Train" (a live 1954 performance), "Audrey," and "Some Day My Prince Will Come" (from the Dave Digs Disney album). Overall it spotlights the pianist in a variety of settings -- live, solo piano ("In Your Sweet Way" and "Weep No More," from Brubeck Plays Brubeck); interpreting West Side Story; bopping, balladeering, bossa nova, with strings; or backing vocalists Louis Armstrong, Carmen McRae, Jimmy Rushing, and Tony Bennett. In fact, no less than a couple dozen albums are sampled over the course of the 31 discs, making this an admirably wide-ranging sampler of Brubeck's work, focusing on his earlier and most important efforts.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/25/2003
Label: Sony
UPC: 0696998699328
catalogNumber: 86993
Rank: 24112

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dave Brubeck   Primary Artist,Piano,Soloist
Tony Bennett   Vocals
Jerry Bergonzi   Tenor Saxophone
Paul Desmond   Alto Saxophone
Joe Morello   Drums
Gerry Mulligan   Baritone Saxophone
Jimmy Rushing   Vocals
Michael Moore   Bass
Bill Smith   Clarinet
Alan Dawson   Drums
Eugene Wright   Bass
Louis Armstrong   Vocals
Norman Bates   Bass
Joe Benjamin   Bass
Chris Brubeck   Electric Bass
Ron Crotty   Bass
Lloyd Davis   Drums
Joe Dodge   Drums
Russell Gloyd   Conductor
Carmen McRae   Vocals
Butch Miles   Drums
Bobby Militello   Alto Saxophone
Jack Six   Bass
Cal Tjader   Drums
Howard Brubeck   Conductor
Randy Jones   Drums

Technical Credits

Leonard Bernstein   Composer
Stephen Sondheim   Composer
Hoagy Carmichael   Composer
Dave Brubeck   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Paul Desmond   Composer
Irving Mills   Composer
Harold Arlen   Composer
George Avakian   Producer
Chris Brubeck   Producer
Didier C. Deutsch   Producer
Ervin Drake   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Russell Gloyd   Arranger,Producer
E.Y. "Yip" Harburg   Composer
Simon Kirke   Composer
Cal Lampley   Producer
Teo Macero   Producer
Ballard MacDonald   Composer
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Mitchell Parish   Composer
Cole Porter   Composer
Billy Strayhorn   Composer
Juan Tizol   Composer
Howard Brubeck   Arranger
Howard Fritzson   Art Direction
Hank Parker   Contributor
Omar Carrasquilla   Tape Research
Frank Churchill   Composer
Victor Schertzinger   Composer
Jay Gorney   Composer
Larry Morey   Composer
Iola Brubeck   Composer
Traditional   Composer
W. Benton Overstreet   Composer
Stacey Boyle   Tape Research
Joe "Cannonball" Lewis   Liner Notes
Mark Unterberger   Package Manager
Billy Higgins   Composer
Hans Lengsfelder   Composer
James Hanley   Composer

Customer Reviews