The Essential Collection

The Essential Collection

by Patti LaBellePatti LaBelle


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This 2003 U.K. release from the Spectrum label is a little too random to be considered one of the better places to go for a sampling of Patti LaBelle's lengthy career. There's enough chronological range to cover the '70s through the '90s, but it's far too spotty to function as a be-all, end-all set. Several expected selections are contained, such as "Yo Mister," "Lady Marmalade," "Kiss Away the Pain," "On My Own" (with Michael McDonald), "Oh, People," "The Right Kinda Lover," and "Sleep With Me Tonight." However, more than a handful of her chart entries from this time span are missing ("New Attitude" and "If You Only Knew," just as two examples), making the disc perfectly avoidable.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/04/2003
Label: Mca Uk
UPC: 0008811297022
catalogNumber: 112970
Rank: 9844

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Patti LaBelle   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Neil Diamond   Composer
Patti LaBelle   Composer
Martika   Composer
Prince   Composer
David Lasley   Composer
Harold Arlen   Composer
Burt Bacharach   Composer
Carole Bayer Sager   Composer
Bruce Roberts   Composer
Bunny Sigler   Composer
Andy Goldmark   Composer
Kenny Nolan   Composer
Frankie Blue   Composer
Alex Brown   Composer
E.Y. "Yip" Harburg   Composer
Ron Kersey   Composer
Terry Lewis   Composer
Sami McKinney   Composer
Ann Nesby   Composer
Pierce   Composer
Jimmy Wright   Composer
Allan Rich   Composer
Dalbello   Composer
Truman Capote   Composer
Bobby Crew   Composer
James "Big Jim" Wright   Composer
Robin Lerner   Composer
Marsha Malamet   Composer
Denise Rich   Composer
Daryl Easlea   Liner Notes
Fred White   Composer

Customer Reviews