The Essential Bruce Hornsby

The Essential Bruce Hornsby

by Bruce HornsbyBruce Hornsby


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 24


As eccentric as the artist himself, Legacy's 2015 compilation The Essential Bruce Hornsby may not give casual fans all the hits they know -- "Mandolin Rain" is, for one, here in a live version, while "Every Little Kiss" is absent altogether -- but this does an excellent job of showcasing Hornsby's range and idiosyncratic taste. There isn't much from the Range here, all things considered: there's more from his rangier new millennial band the Noisemakers, plus duets with Ricky Skaggs, jams with jazzbos Jack DeJohnette and Christian McBride, not to mention Grateful Dead covers and a bit of classical music to boot. It's a lot to shoehorn onto one collection but it definitely shows Hornsby's versatility, as well as how he's gotten looser (and possibly better) as he's moved further away from the charts.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/26/2015
Label: Rca
UPC: 0888750953926
catalogNumber: 509539
Rank: 1570


Disc 1

  1. The Way It is
  2. The Valley Road
  3. The Across the River
  4. Talk of the Town
  5. Rainbow's Cadillac
  6. White Wheeled Limousine
  7. Resting Place
  8. Preacher In the Ring, Pt. 1
  9. Shadowland
  10. Try Anything Once
  11. Halcyon Days
  12. Song F
  13. The Dreaded Spoon
  14. A Night On the Town
  15. Camp Meeting
  16. The Black Rats of London
  17. Song E (Hymn In E.)

Disc 2

  1. Mandolin Rain
  2. The End of the Innocence
  3. Lost Soul
  4. Jack Straw
  5. Country Doctor
  6. Spider Fingers
  7. Hop, Skip and Jump
  8. Fortunate Son/Comfortably Numb
  9. Gonna Be Some Changes Made
  10. Levitate
  11. Darling Corey
  12. Cyclone

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bruce Hornsby   Primary Artist
John D'earth   Horn
Jimmy Haslip   Bass
Laura Creamer   Vocals
Sonny Emory   Drums
David Mansfield   Guitar
George Marinelli   Guitar
John Molo   Drums
Shawn Murphy   Vocals
Joe Puerta   Bass
John "J.T." Thomas   Keyboards
Doug Derryberry   Guitar
Bobby Read   Horn
Michael Baker   Drums
Jv Collier   Bass
Debbie Henry   Vocals

Technical Credits

Ricky Skaggs   Composer
Don Henley   Composer
Bruce Hornsby   Composer
Roger Waters   Composer
Jack DeJohnette   Composer
Christian McBride   Composer
Bruce Hornsby & the Range   Composer
Tris McCall   Liner Notes
Bruce Hornsby & The Noisemakers   Composer
O. Coleman   Composer
Katherine Fisher   Cover Photo
Megan Holmes   Back Cover Photo
Taylor Diglio   Art Direction

Customer Reviews