The Essential

The Essential

by Brooks & DunnBrooks & Dunn


$16.91 $17.99 Save 6% Current price is $16.91, Original price is $17.99. You Save 6%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, April 20


Kix Brooks and Ronnie Dunn both brought considerable songwriting chops to the table when they joined forces in 1988, and both had a sharp eye for a good song, and together they had a vision for country music that was as much Southern rock as it was honky tonk. Their stage shows were high-octane, theatrical affairs, and when all was said and done, Brooks & Dunn ended up being the best-selling duo of all time, country or pop, with an astonishing string of Top Ten hits, including "Neon Moon," "Husbands and Wives," "Red Dirt Road," "My Next Broken Heart," and so many more. This two-disc, 30-song set brings the duo's key and signature tracks (including, of course, the ubiquitous "Boot Scootin' Boogie") together, and everything absolutely essential is here, as well as two new tracks, "Honky Tonk Stomp" and "Indian Summer," that fit seamlessly beside all those hits. Brooks & Dunn brought a lot of kick and fun to contemporary country radio, and they did it with focus and integrity. When they decided to call it quits and parted ways in 2010, Brooks & Dunn handled it amicably and on their own terms. This set is not only a great introduction to this innovative duo, it also shows how sharp the pair's vision was for what contemporary country should sound like. Oh, and they sold a gazillion records doing it.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/17/2012
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0886919679922
catalogNumber: 196799
Rank: 10991


Disc 1

  1. Honky Tonk Stomp
  2. Brand New Man
  3. Ain't Nothing 'Bout You
  4. Hillbilly Deluxe
  5. How Long Gone
  6. She's Not the Cheatin' Kind
  7. A Man This Lonely
  8. Rock My World (Little Country Girl)
  9. Red Dirt Road
  10. The Long Goodbye
  11. You're Gonna Miss Me When I'm Gone
  12. If You See Him/If You See Her
  13. She Used To Be Mine
  14. That Ain't No Way To Go
  15. Boot Scootin' Boogie

Disc 2

  1. Indian Summer
  2. Play Something Country
  3. My Next Broken Heart
  4. Cowgirls Don't Cry
  5. Lost and Found
  6. Little Miss Honky Tonk
  7. It's Getting Better All the Time
  8. We'll Burn That Bridge
  9. He's Got You
  10. Only In America
  11. I Am That Man
  12. Husbands and Wives
  13. Neon Moon
  14. My Maria
  15. Believe

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Brooks & Dunn   Primary Artist
Mark Casstevens   Acoustic Guitar
J.T. Corenflos   Electric Guitar
Billy Gibbons   Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Kenny Greenberg   Electric Guitar
Terry McBride   Background Vocals
Gary Morse   Steel Guitar
Larry Paxton   Bass
Lonnie Wilson   Drums
Tim Lauer   Keyboards
Bryan Sutton   Acoustic Guitar
Wes Hightower   Background Vocals
Shawn Fichter   Drums
Glen Worff   Bass

Technical Credits

B.W. Stevenson   Composer
Paul Brady   Composer
Roger Miller   Composer
Bill LaBounty   Composer
Kix Brooks   Composer,Producer
Jeff Balding   Engineer,Remixing
Ronnie Bowman   Composer
Tony Brown   Producer
Shawn Camp   Composer
Don Cook   Composer,Producer
Bob DiPiero   Composer
Tim DuBois   Producer
Ronnie Dunn   Composer,Producer
Joe Hardy   Engineer
Scott Hendricks   Producer
Jennifer Kimball   Composer
Terry McBride   Composer,Producer
Daniel Moore   Composer
Monty Powell   Composer
Ronnie Rogers   Composer
John Scott Sherrill   Composer
Craig Wiseman   Composer
Mark Wright   Producer
Tommy Lee James   Composer
Steve O'Brien   Composer
Tom Shapiro   Composer
Ronan Keating   Composer
Rivers Rutherford   Composer
Brad Crisler   Composer
Kimberly Levitan   Cover Design
Scott McDaniel   Art Direction,Imaging
Jason Gantt   Engineer
Chip Matthews   Engineer
Bobby Pinson   Composer
Debbie Dover   grooming
Michele Schweitzer   Publicity
Judy Forde-Blair   Liner Notes,Creative Producer
Rick Shipp   Booking
Kix Brown   Producer
Tracy Fleaner   Art Direction

Customer Reviews