The Essential Blue Öyster Cult

The Essential Blue Öyster Cult

by Blue Öyster CultBlue Öyster Cult


$16.91 $17.99 Save 6% Current price is $16.91, Original price is $17.99. You Save 6%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


In 2003, Sony/Legacy released a single-disc collection called The Essential Blue Öyster Cult. Nearly a decade later, they released a double-disc set of the same name, containing all of the single disc's 14 songs -- some of them are in live versions here -- and an additional 17 cuts dating from all phases of the group's career. This 31-track Essential shares 21 songs with 1995's 32-song Workshop of the Telescopes -- granted, some of the songs were featured in live versions previously or vice-versa -- and they're also structured similarly, with "(Don't Fear) The Reaper)" kicking off the hit-making years on disc two. What differences there are lie in details that should be plainly evident to the hardcore, but not as noteworthy to the less-dedicated listeners who may be drawn to this compilation. In any case, this The Essential Blue Öyster Cult is as thorough a retrospective as this beloved cult band deserves, a clear demonstration that the group's legacy cuts much deeper than "(Don't Fear) The Reaper" and "Burnin' for You."

Product Details

Release Date: 04/17/2012
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0886919363326
catalogNumber: 193633
Rank: 874

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Blue Öyster Cult   Primary Artist
Buck Dharma   Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals,Group Member
Eric Bloom   Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals,Group Member
Albert Bouchard   Drums,Vocals,Group Member
Joe Bouchard   Bass,Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Rick Downey   Drums
Allen Lanier   Guitar,Keyboards,Group Member
Thommy Price   Drums
Tom Zvoncheck   Organ,Synthesizer,Piano
Randy Jackson   Bass
Robby Krieger   Guitar,Guest Appearance

Technical Credits

Blue Öyster Cult   Composer,Producer
Jim Morrison   Composer
Mars Bonfire   Composer
Buck Dharma   Composer
Ray Manzarek   Composer
John Densmore   Composer
Martin Birch   Producer
Eric Bloom   Composer
Albert Bouchard   Composer
Joe Bouchard   Composer
Bruce Fairbairn   Producer
George Geranios   Producer
Lenny Kaye   Liner Notes
Murray Krugman   Composer,Producer
Allen Lanier   Composer
David Lucas   Producer
Sandy Pearlman   Composer,Producer
Tom Werman   Producer
Mark Larson   Art Direction
Pieter Mazél   Cover Photo
Robby Krieger   Composer

Customer Reviews