The Essential Bill Withers

The Essential Bill Withers

by Bill WithersBill Withers


$12.59 $17.99 Save 30% Current price is $12.59, Original price is $17.99. You Save 30%. View All Available Formats & Editions


More generous than the 20-track The Very Best Of, Essential Bill Withers is a 34-track anthology that features all of Withers' notable singles, along with other highlights from the singer's albums for the Sussex and Columbia labels, from 1971's Just as I Am through 1985's Watching You Watching Me. This is a fine and extensive introduction to Withers' catalog, featuring "Ain't No Sunshine," "Lean on Me," "Use Me," "Lovely Day," and "The Same Love That Made Me Laugh." He also recorded scads of excellent deep album cuts that could not fit. In 2013, the lovingly packaged The Complete Sussex and Columbia Albums Collection -- released the previous year -- retailed for roughly three times the price of this set. Anyone with a serious interest in Withers' work should seriously consider that option, though it doesn't contain "Just the Two of Us," the big hit from Grover Washington, Jr.'s Winelight album.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/20/2013
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0888837422024
catalogNumber: 374220

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bill Withers   Primary Artist,Bass,Flute,Guitar,Strings,Drums,Electric Piano,Vocals,fender rhodes,DX-7
William Eaton   Conductor,oberheim
Steve Stills   Guitar
Dorothy Ashby   Harp
Joe Sample   Piano
Phil Upchurch   Guitar
Clifford Coulter   Synthesizer,Moog Synthesizer
Phil Perry   Background Vocals,Vocal Ad-Libs
Roland Bautista   Guitar
Ralph MacDonald   Percussion,Conga
David T. Walker   Electric Guitar
Jim Keltner   Drums
Jerry Knight   Bass
Bobbye Hall   Percussion
Randy Brecker   Trumpet,Soloist
Alex Brown   Vocal Ad-Libs
Dennis Budimir   Acoustic Guitar
Keni Burke   Bass
Charles Veal   Concert Master
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion
Dave Grusin   Keyboards
Melvin Dunlap   Bass
Wilton Felder   Saxophone
Don Freeman   Electric Piano,Steel Drums,Bells,DX-7
Steve Gadd   Drums
James Gadson   Percussion,Drums
Eric Gale   Guitar
Bryan Garofalo   Bass
Jim Gilstrap   Background Vocals
Dean Grant   Keyboards
Hilda Harris   Background Vocals
Stix Hooper   Drums
James Jamerson   Bass
George Johnson   Electric Guitar
Louis Johnson   Bass
Booker T. Jones   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals
Russ Kunkel   Cymbals,Drums,Shaker
Abraham Laboriel   Bass
Edie Lehmann   Background Vocals
Geoffrey Leib   Piano,Keyboards
Yvonne Lewis   Background Vocals
Clarence McDonald   Keyboards
Bob Mann   Guitar
Kate Markowitz   Background Vocals
Harvey Mason   Drums
Myrna Matthews   Background Vocals
Ullanda McCullough   Background Vocals
Marcus Miller   Bass
John Myles   Electric Piano,Clavinet
Larry Nash   Electric Piano,Melodica,Harp Keyboards
Ray Parker   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Dean Parks   Guitar
Melvin Ragin   Guitar Effects
Ralph Rickert   Trumpet
John "J.R." Robinson   Drums
Keith Seppanen   Synthesizer,Linn Drum
Richard Tee   Piano,fender rhodes
Larry Tolbert   Drums
Grover Washington   Soprano Saxophone
Ernie Watts   Soprano Saxophone
Wah Wah Watson   Electric Guitar
Tom Babler   Background Vocals
Al Jackson   Drums
Charles McDonald   Keyboards
Angie Johnson   Background Vocals
Bobbye Hall Porter   Percussion
Ray Jackson   Piano,Electric Piano,Clavinet
Caroline Willis   Background Vocals
M.B. Gordy   Cymbals
Benorce Blackman   Guitar

Technical Credits

William Eaton   Arranger,Producer
Bill Withers   Composer,Producer,Horn Arrangements
Dorothy Ashby   Producer
Larry Carlton   Engineer
Quincy Jones   Producer
Joe Sample   Producer
Clifford Coulter   Producer
Phil Perry   Vocal Arrangements
Ray Jackson   Composer
Ralph MacDonald   Composer,Producer
Jerry Knight   Producer
Richard Alderson   Engineer
Errol Crusher Bennett   Producer
Benorce Blackmon   Composer
Alex Brown   Vocal Arrangements
Kendall Brown   Engineer
Keni Burke   Producer
Ed Caraeff   Cover Photo,Tray Photo
Ed Cherney   Engineer
John Collins   Composer
Melvin Dunlap   Composer,Producer
Wilton Felder   Producer
Don Freeman   Producer
James Gadson   Producer
Daine Gonneau   Composer
Mick Guzauski   Engineer
Bill Halverson   Engineer
Larry Hirsch   Engineer
Stix Hooper   Producer
Bob Hughes   Engineer
Will Jennings   Composer
J.J. Johnson   Composer
Booker T. Jones   Arranger,Producer
Bill Lazerus   Engineer
Geoffrey Leib   Producer
Clarence McDonald   Arranger,Producer
Bob Merritt   Engineer
John Myles   String Arrangements
Larry Nash   Producer,rhythm arrangement
Paul Riser   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
William Salter   Composer
Skip Scarborough   Composer
Keith Seppanen   Engineer
Bobby Thomas   Engineer
Larry Tolbert   Producer
Grover Washington   Producer
Frank Wolf   Engineer
Erik Zobler   Engineer
Yusuf Rahman   Producer
Leo Sacks   Producer
Mark Larson   Art Direction
Pieter Mazél   Back Cover Photo
Bill Eaton   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Lynell George   Liner Notes
Ray Jackson   Composer,Producer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
J. Sample   Composer
Stanley Wayne McKenny   Composer
Phil Schier   Engineer
M.B. Gordy   Simmons
Benorce Blackman   Producer
Kwasi "Rocki" Dzidzomu   Producer
Marcia Withers   Producer,Management
Ed Rakowicz   Engineer
Tom Suefort   Engineer
Hal Sacs   Engineer
Denise Routt   Vocal Arrangements

Customer Reviews