The Essential Alan Jackson

The Essential Alan Jackson

by Alan JacksonAlan Jackson


$16.91 $17.99 Save 6% Current price is $16.91, Original price is $17.99. You Save 6%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Legacy's 2012 set The Essential Alan Jackson is a retitled reissue of 2010's 34 Number Ones, containing the same songs in the same sequence but bearing a different title and artwork. Upon its release, three of these cuts -- "Ring of Fire," "Look at Me," and the Zac Brown Band duet "As She's Walking Away" -- were new and several of the songs -- "Chasin' That Neon Rainbow," "Here in the Real World," "Tonight I Climbed the Wall," "(Who Says) You Can't Have It All," and "Who's Cheatin' Who" -- never topped the Billboard charts, so the title 34 Number Ones bent the truth a bit, but when placed under the Essential banner alongside all the number one hits from 1991 through 2008, there is no reason to quibble. Jackson certainly has more to offer than just number one singles -- his facility with slow-burning torch songs and gospel is absent here, as are several singles that never reached the upper echelon of the charts ("Pop a Top," "The Talkin' Song Repair Blues," "USA Today," "A Woman's Love," "www.memory," "It's Alright to Be a Redneck," "When Somebody Loves You") -- but by its very length The Essential Alan Jackson suggests the depth and breadth of his body of work, and it's a tremendously entertaining listen to boot.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/17/2012
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0886919679724
catalogNumber: 196797
Rank: 2563

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Alan Jackson   Primary Artist,Vocals
Gary Prim   Piano
John Wesley Ryles   Background Vocals
Eddie Bayers   Drums
Larry Franklin   Fiddle
Paul Franklin   Steel Guitar
Brent Mason   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Jimmie Lee Sloas   Bass
Rafe Van Hoy   Acoustic Guitar
John Willis   Acoustic Guitar
Glenn Worf   Bass
Lee Ann Womack   Background Vocals
Clay Cook   Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Zac Brown   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Coy Bowles   Hammond B3
Jimmy de Martini   Fiddle,Background Vocals
John Driskell Hopkins   Bass,Background Vocals
Chris Fryar   Drums

Technical Credits

Tom T. Hall   Composer
George Jones   Composer
Paul Overstreet   Composer
Randy Travis   Composer
Eddie Cochran   Composer
Roger Miller   Composer
Harley Allen   Composer
Charlie Black   Composer
Jerry Capehart   Composer
Scott Hendricks   Producer
Alan Jackson   Composer
John Kelton   Engineer
Jim McBride   Composer
Bob McDill   Composer
Roger Murrah   Composer
Don Rollins   Composer
Keith Stegall   Composer,Producer
Merle Kilgore   Composer
Tracy Baskette-Fleaner   Art Direction
Bart Busch   Engineer
Carson Chamberlain   Composer
Jim Collins   Composer
Mark Irwin   Composer
Phil Vassar   Composer
Jerry Hayes   Composer
Don Sampson   Composer
Matt Rovey   Engineer
Jim "Moose" Brown   Composer
Jason Campbell   Production Accountant
Zac Brown   Composer,Producer
Ron Jackson   Composer
Andy Loftin   Composer
Charlie Craig   Composer
Wyatt Durrette   Composer
June Carter   Composer
Chris Willman   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews