The Essential Alabama [2005]

The Essential Alabama [2005]

by AlabamaAlabama


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


RCA/Legacy's 2005 double-disc release Essential Alabama should not be confused with RCA's 1998 single-disc release The Essential Alabama, which may have had the same title but boasted a different track listing. However, the 2005 Essential Alabama should be confused with the 1998 double-disc set For the Record: 41 Number One Hits, since it has the same track listing as that album. At least the back cover of Essential acknowledges that it was "formerly available" as For the Record, so most fans will likely not be duped into buying the same album a second time. For the rest of us, Essential Alabama keeps everything good about For the Record: 41 Number One Hits and eliminates its one flaw: the misleading subtitle that claimed all of the songs on the album hit number one, which was not true (it also implied that the album had 41 songs when it really had 44). Which means that Essential Alabama is now the definitive Alabama collection, containing every one of their big hits -- including such contemporary classics as "Tennessee River," "Mountain Music," "The Closer You Get," "Forty Hour Week (For a Livin')," "Jukebox on My Mind," and "Down Home" -- in one concise, entertaining package.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/17/2005
Label: Rca
UPC: 0828766863529
catalogNumber: 68635
Rank: 160841

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Alabama   Primary Artist
Mark Casstevens   Acoustic Guitar
Don Cook   Vocals
Jeff Cook   Fiddle,Guitar,Vocals
Steve Dorff   Conductor
Larry Franklin   Fiddle
Theodore Gentry   Bass,Bass Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Mark Herndon   Percussion,Drums,Group Member
Brent Mason   Electric Guitar,Gut String Guitar,Guitar (12 String Electric)
Steve Nathan   Keyboards
Randy Owen   Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Lonnie Wilson   Percussion,Drums
John Barlow Jarvis   Piano,Hammond Organ,Hammond B3

Technical Credits

Alabama   Producer
Beth Nielsen Chapman   Composer
J.P. Pennington   Composer
Jeff Stevens   Composer
Dave Loggins   Composer
Randy VanWarmer   Composer
Mark Gray   Composer
Troy Seals   Composer
Murray Kellum   Composer
Rick Bowles   Composer
Kerry Chater   Composer
Michael Clark   Composer
Rich Alves   Composer
Gary Baker   Composer
Barry Beckett   Producer,Audio Production
Mike Bradley   Engineer
Mark Capps   Engineer
Carl Chambers   Composer
Don Cook   Producer
Bob Corbin   Composer
Steve Dean   Composer
Steve Dorff   Composer,String Arrangements
Tim DuBois   Composer
Garth Fundis   Producer,Audio Production
Theodore Gentry   Composer
Vince Gill   Composer
Emory Gordy   Producer,Audio Production
Josh Leo   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Mac McAnally   Composer
Larry MacBride   Producer,Audio Production
Bob McDill   Composer
Dan Mitchell   Composer
Roger Murrah   Composer
Frank J. Myers   Composer
Randy Owen   Composer
Lisa Palas   Composer
Jim Photoglo   Composer
Mike Reid   Composer
Harold Shedd   Producer,Audio Production
Jeff Silbar   Composer
Lisa Silver   Composer
Mentor Williams   Composer
William Robinson   Composer
Larry Michael Lee   Producer,Audio Production
Robert Jason   Composer
Peter Nash   Cover Photo
Ron Rogers   Composer
J.L. Wallace   Composer
Bill Brunt   Art Direction
Susan Eaddy   Art Direction
Dave Gibson   Composer
Patty Zimmitti   String Contractor
Terry Skinner   Composer
John Jarrard   Composer
Donny Lowery   Composer
Danny Bear Mayo   Composer
William Soule Robinson   Composer
Don Schlitz   Composer
John Schweers   Composer
Jim Hunt   Composer
Scott Anders   Composer
Joe Doyle   Composer
Greg Fowler   Composer
Byron Hill   Composer
Rick Scott   Composer
Bobby Boyd   Composer
Debbi Datz Pyle   String Contractor
Music Team   String Contractor
Kenneth Bell   Composer

Customer Reviews