The Election of Pope Francis: An Inside Account of the Conclave That Changed History

The Election of Pope Francis: An Inside Account of the Conclave That Changed History

by Gerard O'Connell

NOOK Book(eBook)

$12.99 $22.50 Save 42% Current price is $12.99, Original price is $22.5. You Save 42%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

The selection of Cardinal Jorge Bergoglio of Buenos Aires in the papal election of 2013 made history in several ways: he was the first Latin American, the first Jesuit, and the first pope to choose the name Francis. But these “firsts” were only the beginning of a consequential papacy of historic proportions. Entering the conclave of 2013, Cardinal Bergoglio appeared on few lists of likely candidates. How then did his election come about? Written by a top Vatican journalist, this book is an inside, day-by-day account of the process that began with Pope Benedict XVI’s surprising decision to retire and continued up to Pope Francis’s election and installation. Gerard O’Connell and his wife—herself a Vatican correspondent from Argentina—had befriended Bergoglio years before and were among the very few journalists who predicted his election. Now, relying on extensive inside sources, he reveals the basis for that confidence and shares with us what actually happened inside the secret conclave.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781608337811
Publisher: Orbis
Publication date: 04/13/2019
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 176,365
File size: 793 KB

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments xiii

Preface xv

Introduction xix

Part I From the Announcement to the Resignation of Benedict XVI (February 11-28, 2013)

February 11 (Monday) 3

Benedict XVI Stuns the World

February 12 (Tuesday) 15

Cardinals Unprepared for the Conclave

February 13 (Ash Wednesday) 25

Emotional Last Public Liturgy as Pope

February 14 (Thursday) 28

Reminiscing on Vatican II

February 15 (Friday) 30

Soundings on the Front-runners

February 16 (Saturday) 37

Cardinals Have Many Questions, Few Answers

February 17 (Sunday) 40

Benedict and Vatican Officials Go on Retreat

February 18 (Monday) 41

No Clear Favorite

February 19 (Tuesday) 49

Italian Cardinals Have a Head Start in the Conclave

February 20 (Wednesday) 53

New Pope Must Be Able to Govern

February 21 (Thursday) 55

A Mystery Man Called Dolan

February 22 (Friday) 57

Bookmakers Give Odds on Papal Election

February 23 (Saturday) 58

Vatican Denounces Pressure on Cardinals

February 24 (Sunday) 62

"The Lord Is Calling Me to Climb the Mountain"

February 25 (Monday) 63

Scandal in Scotland

February 26 (Tuesday) 68

Emeritus Pope Will Wear White

February 27 (Wednesday) 70

Cardinal Bergoglio Arrives in Rome

February 28, (Thursday) 79

The Era of Benedict XVI Ends

Part II The See of Peter Is Vacant (March 1-11, 2013)

March 1 (Friday) 89

Cardinals Begin to Caucus

March 2 (Saturday) 98

"The Sherer Ticket" Revealed

March 3 (Sunday) 114

Searching for "God's Candidate"

March 4 (Monday) 118

Day 1 of the General Congregations Cardinals Speak from the Heart

March 5 (Tuesday) 124

Day 2 of the General Congregations Leaks to the Press

March 6 (Wednesday) 131

Day 3 of the General Congregations Gag Order on the Cardinals

March 7 (Thursday) 139

Day 4 of the General Congregations The Last Elector Arrives

March 8 (Friday) 146

Day 5 of the General Congregations Cardinals Decide the Entry Date to the Conclave

March 9 (Saturday) 151

Day 6 of the General Congregations A Turning Point

March 10 (Sunday) 159

Front-runners in the Spotlight

March 11 (Monday) 169

The Sixth and Final Day of the General Congregations Cardinals Have Their Final Say

Part III The Conclave (March 12-13, 2013)

March 12 (Tuesday) 185

The Cardinal Electors Enter the Sistine Chapel

March 13 (Wednesday) 214

Bergoglio Elected Pope

Part IV Early Signs of a New Style of Papacy (March 14-19, 2013)

March 14 (Thursday) 243

Surprises on Francis's First Day as Pope

March 15 (Friday) 250

"He Hasn't Changed a Bit"

March 16 (Saturday) 255

Muslim Woman Reporter: "I Just Love Your Pope"

March 17 (Sunday) 260

The Worlds Parish Priest

March 18 (Monday) 267

Preparing for the Inauguration Ceremony

March 19 (Tuesday) 268

In the Shoes of the Fisherman

Conclusion 279

Notes 281

Index 297

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews