The Eagle's Daughter: A powerful story of war and romance in the Holy Roman Empire

The Eagle's Daughter: A powerful story of war and romance in the Holy Roman Empire

by Judith Tarr

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

The powerful story of the tenth-century Byzantine princess Theophano, who was sent to be the wife and Empress of Otto II, son of Otto the Great, the Holy Roman Emperor.

It is a long journey from the surviving Roman Empire in the East to the devastated Empire in the West. Theophano must apply all her Byzantine skills to truly become the Empress of the West, winning first her new husband's devotion, and then the love of her new people.

But when Otto II dies unexpectedly, leaving the empire to his four-year-old son, the Empress Theophano must fight one of the greatest wars of succession of the Dark Ages.

For Otto II's cousin, Henry of Burgundy, would have the Regency for himself and the Throne as well – if he can take them.

Brimming with suspenseful battles and seductive court politics, the second book in Judith Tarr's Three Queens series is perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Kate Quinn.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781788636186
Publisher: Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd
Publication date: 07/22/2019
Series: The Three Queens , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 350
Sales rank: 1,095,129
File size: 922 KB

About the Author

Judith Tarr is the author of over forty novels of fantasy, science fiction, and historical fiction. She holds an MA in Classics from Cambridge and a PhD in Medieval Studies from Yale. Her novels have won the Crawford Award and been nominated for the Locus Award and the World Fantasy Award. She lives in Arizona, USA, with a herd of Lipizzan horses, a clowder of cats, and a blue-eyed dog.

Customer Reviews