The Duke at Fargo 1940: Special 60th Anniversary Edition

The Duke at Fargo 1940: Special 60th Anniversary Edition

by Duke Ellington

CD(Anniversary Edition / Digi-Pak)

$15.19 $15.99 Save 5% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $15.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 18


This two-disc set is a true historical treasure. An amateur recording of a Duke Ellington dance engagement at the Crystal Ballroom in Fargo, North Dakota made by two dedicated fans, one a high-school senior at the time, and the other a college student, coupled with a remote radio broadcast complete with a KVOX announcer, it makes a fascinating document of an era long gone. Ellington's famed orchestra at the time consisted of Rex Stewart, Wallace Jones, Ray Nance, Sam Nanton, Juan Tizol, Lawrence Brown, Barney Bigard, Johnny Hodges, Otto Hardwick, Ben Webster, Harry Carney, Fred Guy, Jimmy Blanton, Sonny Greer, and vocalists Ivie Anderson and Herb Jeffries, and having played the night before in Winnipeg, Canada and traveling by train, they still delivered a fine set. This is not a professional recording, however, with occasional missed openings and several ongoing microphone adjustments throughout, but that adds to the immediacy and intimacy of it all, really, and as an archival document of one of jazz's greatest bands in full dress at a typical gig, this set is simply a blessing to have and to hear.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/11/2013
Label: Storyville Records
UPC: 0717101843527
catalogNumber: 1038435
Rank: 30313

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Duke Ellington   Primary Artist,Piano
Johnny Hodges   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Ray Nance   Trumpet,Violin,Vocals
Rex Stewart   Cornet
Ben Webster   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Lawrence Brown   Trombone
Herb Jeffries   Vocals
Ivie Anderson   Vocals
Jimmy Blanton   Bass
Sonny Greer   Drums
Barney Bigard   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Fred Guy   Guitar
Juan Tizol   Trombone
Wallace Jones   Trumpet
Otto Hardwick   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Joseph Nanton   Trombone

Technical Credits

Berlin   Composer
Hoagy Carmichael   Composer
Irving Mills   Composer
Josef Myrow   Composer
Andy Razaf   Composer
Barney Bigard   Composer
Henry Creamer   Composer
Dubin   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Kim Gannon   Composer
Fred Guy   Whistle
Karl Emil Knudsen   Executive Producer
Turner Layton   Composer
Juan Tizol   Composer
Jack Towers   Engineer,Liner Notes,Photo Courtesy
James Van Heusen   Composer
Jerry Valburn   Liner Notes
Waller   Composer
Carl A. Hällström   Reissue Producer
Gene Irwin   Composer
l'Ange   Composer
Carney   Composer
Lawlor   Composer
Gorman   Composer
William Strother   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews