The Dove Shall Fly: a Texas Revolution novel, sequel to Bones at Goliad

The Dove Shall Fly: a Texas Revolution novel, sequel to Bones at Goliad

by Judith Austin Mills

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.49 $4.99 Save 10% Current price is $4.49, Original price is $4.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


A sprawling novel focuses on the burgeoning revolution in 19th-century
    Texas.  …a substantial piece of thoughtful historical fiction.
                        —Kirkus Reviews


In the Texas Revolution of 1836, fighters and those fleeing after the Alamo and Goliad brace for a last clash. Born in Mexico’s San Antonio, Captain Juan Seguin risks all in championing the break-away republic. Private James Trezevant, one of few Georgia Battalion survivors, makes his way toward the attack at San Jacinto. The Harper women scramble for the safety of the American border. Yarico and anyone else identified as a slave stay wary during calls for “liberty or death.”
Judith Austin Mills has given us an impressive third volume in her moving saga of the birth of Texas. This novel of survival, struggle and redemption is character driven and emotionally charged from beginning to end. We see the battlefield intimately, not just heroically, and the hard won happiness of the "winners" has its cost. The Dove Shall Fly is not just a fine novel by an extraordinary writer, but a tribute to morality not often seen in our times.
Sharon Kahn, Scribner novelist, University of Texas Press author
The Dove Shall Fly is a moving tale of adventure and sacrifice driven by characters torn from the pages of Texas history. All those who enjoy imagining themselves witnessing our rich past will love this book.
Jeffrey Kerr, author of Lamar’s Folly and Seat of Empire
Another captivating novel by a master at historical detail. The interlocking stories of three Texas Revolution participants grip from the first page.
Karen Casey Fitzjerrel, award winning historical fiction author of Forgiving Effie Beck and The Dividing Season


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781632100429
Publisher: Plain View Press, LLC
Publication date: 05/24/2018
Series: a Texas Revolution novel , #3
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 302
File size: 4 MB

About the Author

Judith Austin Mills Moved to Texas from up north when she was ten. The absence of distinct seasons and the spare, sprawling landscape in her adopted state may have been what taught her to look closely for signs of change. Her writing, both fiction and poetry, portrays awakenings. Since 2010, the complex shifts brought on by the Texas Revolution have fascinated her. In 1989 at the University of Texas, the author earned her English with a concentration in Creative Writing. Stories from her collection, Lost Autumn Blues, have appeared in literary journals. One piece from her poetry book Accidental Joy received a Pushcart nomination in 2015. The novel manuscript Tripping Home won the Writers' League of Texas mainstream competition in 2001. Since retiring from the French classroom and from Austin Community College as an Adjunct, Associate Professor of English, Judith Austin Mills devotes her time to writing and to family. She is more and more convinced that hopeful change springs from a careful look at history. Websites: and

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments     6
Truth in the Telling     11

In This Forgotten Spot     13
Chapter 1     Scattered Angels     15
Chapter 2     Long Lullaby     28
Chapter 3     Tendrils     43
Chapter 4     A Day of Reversals     54
Chapter 5     The Approach of Thunder     67
Chapter 6     What’s in a Name?     80
Chapter 7     Along Comes Chaos     99
Chapter 8     Farewell, Light Heart     116
Chapter 9     No Way But Forward     137
Chapter 10     The Shortest Dreams of Mercy      151
Chapter 11     Riding the Aftermath     155

The Hum of Elegies     163
Chapter 12     A Hard Path Home     165
Chapter 13     Long Shadows    182
Chapter 14     Remains of a Battalion    199
Chapter 15     Word of Mouth     217

Celestial Fire     233
Chapter 16     Past Meets Prologue—New Orleans, 1839     235
Chapter 17    To See What He Could See—Near Seguin, 1856     249
Chapter 18     Again at a Riverbank—Austin, Texas, 1869     268
Chapter 19     Blessing in a Bottle—Yucatan, 1726     286

About the Author299


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews