The Dizzy Gillespie Collection: 1937-46

The Dizzy Gillespie Collection: 1937-46

by Dizzy GillespieDizzy Gillespie


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, August 4


The Dizzy Gillespie Collection: 1937-46 compiles some of the earliest recordings made by the legendary jazz trumpeter through to his time as a bebop innovator in the mid-'40s. The album includes cuts Gillespie recorded with several big bands during the 1930s, including such acts as Teddy Hill, Cab Calloway, and Lionel Hampton. Elsewhere, we get such bop-era landmarks as Gillespie's recordings with Charlie Parker, Boyd Raeburn, and Slim Gaillard. This is a solid overview of Gillespie's development from swing-era acolyte of Roy Eldridge to modern jazz giant.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/01/2013
Label: Fabulous
UPC: 0824046035426
catalogNumber: 354
Rank: 71653


  1. Blue Rhythm Fantasy
  2. Pluckin' The Bass
  3. Hot Mallets
  4. Paradiddle
  5. Bye Bye Blues
  6. Cupid's Nightmare
  7. Jersey Bounce
  8. Little John Special
  9. Disorder At The Border
  10. Opus X
  11. East Of The Sun (And West Of The Moon)
  12. I Can't Get Started
  13. Salt Peanuts
  14. Be-bop
  15. Something For You (Max Is Making Wax)
  16. Empty Bed Blues
  17. A Night In Tunisia
  18. Blue 'n' Boogie
  19. Groovin' High
  20. Dizzy Atmosphere
  21. Hot House
  22. Ko-Ko
  23. Dizzy Boogie
  24. Anthropology
  25. Oop Bop Sh'Bam

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dizzy Gillespie   Primary Artist,Piano,Trumpet,Vocals
Bill Doggett   Piano
Gene Ammons   Tenor Saxophone
Danny Barker   Guitar
Chu Berry   Tenor Saxophone
Cab Calloway   Vocals
Serge Chaloff   Baritone Saxophone
Charlie Christian   Guitar
Gil Fuller   Vocals
Dexter Gordon   Tenor Saxophone
Haig   Piano
Lionel Hampton   Vocals,Vibes
Milt Jackson   Vibes
Budd Johnson   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Shelly Manne   Drums
Lucky Millinder   Leader
Leo Parker   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Oscar Pettiford   Bass
Max Roach   Drums
Tab Smith   Alto Saxophone
Slam Stewart   Bass
Sonny Stitt   Alto Saxophone
Ben Webster   Tenor Saxophone
Gerald Wiggins   Piano
Johnny Bothwell   Alto Saxophone
Ike Carpenter   Piano
Cozy Cole   Drums
Bill DeArango   Guitar
Tyree Glenn   Trombone,Vibes
Hal McKusick   Alto Saxophone
Benny Morton   Trombone
Tommy Potter   Bass
Boyd Raeburn   Bass Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Aaron Sachs   Clarinet
Zutty Singleton   Drums
Chuck Wayne   Guitar
Joe Wilder   Trumpet
Coleman Hawkins   Tenor Saxophone
Slim Gaillard   Guitar,Piano
Russell Procope   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Quentin Jackson   Trombone
Trummy Young   Trombone
Jack McVea   Tenor Saxophone
Ray Abrams   Tenor Saxophone
Cohn   Tenor Saxophone
Sam Allen   Piano
Tommy Allison   Trumpet
Georgie Auld   Tenor Saxophone
Taswell Baird   Trombone
Mario Bauzá   Trumpet
Bill Beason   Drums
Benny Carter   Alto Saxophone
Jerry Blake   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Art Blakey   Drums
Benny Booker   Bass
Oscar Lee Bradley   Drums
Joe Britton   Trombone
Gail Brockman   Trumpet
Ray Brown   Bass
Bam Brown   Bass
Don Byas   Tenor Saxophone
Big Sid Catlett   Drums
Kenny Clarke   Drums
Alfred Cobbs   Trombone
Shad Collins   Trumpet
Leon Comegys   Trombone
Bill Dillard   Trumpet
Allen Durham   Trombone
Nick Fenton   Bass
Stan Fishelson   Trumpet
Panama Francis   Drums
Bill Frazier   Alto Saxophone
Benny Harris   Trumpet
Clyde Hart   Piano
Boonie Hazel   Trumpet
J.C. Heard   Drums
Teddy Hill   Tenor Saxophone
Milt Hinton   Bass
Hite   Alto Saxophone,Vocals
Roger Hurd   Tenor Saxophone
Hilton Jefferson   Alto Saxophone
Keg Johnson   Trombone
Claude Jones   Trombone
Steve Jordan   Guitar
Jack Lesberg   Bass
John Malachi   Piano
Dodo Marmarosa   Piano
Shorty McConnell   Trumpet
Joe Megro   Tenor Saxophone
Frank Paparelli   Piano
Charlie Parker   Alto Saxophone
Frank Pasley   Guitar
Benny Payne   Piano
Ernest Purce   Baritone Saxophone
Curly Russell   Bass
Sarah Vaughan   Vocals
William Scott   Trumpet
Stafford Simon   Tenor Saxophone
Floyd Turnham   Alto Saxophone
Gerald Valentine   Trombone
Connie Wainwright   Guitar
Dicky Wells   Trombone
Priest Wheeler   Trombone
Walter Williams   Trumpet
Ollie Wilson   Trombone
George Stevenson   Trombone
Andrew Brown   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Lammar Wright   Trumpet
Remo Palmieri   Guitar
Murray Shipinski   Bass
Trevor Bacon   Guitar,Vocals
Walter Wheeler   Tenor Saxophone
Nelson Bryant   Trumpet
Howard E. Johnson   Alto Saxophone
Leonard Lowry   Alto Saxophone
Rubberlegs Williams   Vocals
Walter Robertson   Trombone,Trumpet
Billy Bowen   Alto Saxophone
John Brown   Baritone Saxophone
Howard Scott   Trombone
Morey Field   Drums
John Jackson   Alto Saxophone
Robert Carroll   Tenor Saxophone
Ed Vanderveer   Trumpet
Bernie Payne   Piano
Que Martyn   Tenor Saxophone
Richard Fullbright   Bass
Chippy Outcalt   Trombone
John Smith   Guitar
Dave Young   Tenor Saxophone
Vic Coulsen   Trumpet
Chauncey Haughton   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Jack Carman   Trombone

Technical Credits

Tiny Bradshaw   Composer
Cab Calloway   Director
Tadd Dameron   Composer
Roy Eldridge   Composer
Gil Fuller   Arranger,Composer
Dizzy Gillespie   Arranger,Composer
Lionel Hampton   Composer
Lucky Millinder   Composer
Oscar Pettiford   Composer
Tab Smith   Arranger
Ralph Burns   Arranger
Cozy Cole   Composer
Andy Gibson   Arranger
Don Redman   Arranger
George Williams   Arranger
Vernon Duke   Composer
Coleman Hawkins   Composer
Slim Gaillard   Composer
David Bennett   Composer
Benny Carter   Arranger
Duke Ellington   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Eddie Johnson   Composer
Milt Kleeb   Arranger
John Malachi   Arranger,Composer
Frank Paparelli   Composer
Charlie Parker   Composer
Bobby Plater   Composer
Chappie Willett   Composer
Chauncey Gray   Composer
Edgar Battle   Arranger
Bert Lown   Composer
Buster Harding   Arranger
Alice Roberts   Composer
Brooks Bowman   Composer
Frederick Hamm   Composer
Robert Wright   Composer
George Melanchrino   Arranger

Customer Reviews