The District Sleeps Alone Tonight

The District Sleeps Alone Tonight

by The Postal Service



"The District Sleeps Alone" is one of the moodiest highlights of the Postal Service's moody 2003 album Give Up. The track features deeply sad vocals by Ben Gibbard and some inspired musical backing full of tripping strings, sweeping female harmony vocals, and skittery beats provided by Jimmy Tamborello. The two remixes of the track on the single don't improve upon the original much but are interesting: DJ Downfall's "Persistent Beat" mix adds a persistent beat, some fluttery sequencers, and a jolt of energy while John Tejada's mix adds a housey beat and some slide guitar. Both mixes keep the vocals intact. The fourth song is an imaginative and subdued take on the Flaming Lips' "Suddenly Everything Has Changed."

Product Details

Release Date: 07/08/2003
Label: Sub Pop
UPC: 0098787061420
catalogNumber: 614

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Not much to say. A good EP for a cheap price. If you're a completist or enjoy remixes pick it up. After buying all three Postal Service EPs (this one, "Such Great Heights", and the newly released "We Will Become Silhouettes" ep) "Such Great Heights" is still my favorite (maybe becasue it's the only one without remixes that's more heavy on the covers). Another note, all ep's contain an unreleased song, on this one, it's a cover, granted, but the other two are original...