The Dirty Story: The Best of Ol' Dirty Bastard

The Dirty Story: The Best of Ol' Dirty Bastard

by Ol' Dirty BastardOl' Dirty Bastard


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Usually a two-album career doesn't warrant a best-of collection, but, then again, Ol' Dirty Bastard isn't your usual artist. The Dirty Story hit the streets in 2001, just as Ol' Dirty was in the headlines yet again for ongoing drug/legal problems. This is far from a mandatory addition to the troubled rapper's catalog, and feels more like an exploitative attempt to bank on the news headlines. You get the better moments from Ol' Dirty's debut, Return to the 36 Chambers -- "Shimmy Shimmy Ya," "Brooklyn Zoo," "Raw Hide," "Proteck Ya Neck II in the Zoo" -- and a few of the highlights from Nigga Please: "I Can't Wait," the Neptunes-produced tracks "Got Your Money" and "Recognize," and Ol' Dirty's Rick James cover, "Cold Blooded." Furthermore, since this album only features 11 songs and no interludes, it's a pleasant listen -- no lulls, no filler, and refreshingly brief. Of course, anyone with one or more of Ol' Dirty's albums will find little justification for buying this. In essence, The Dirty Story is a distillation of two albums with the Mariah Carey collaboration "Fantasy" thrown in as a bonus. As such, The Best of Ol' Dirty Bastard is the perfect one-stop listen for anyone curious about the Ol' Dirty story, particularly those who don't already have the otherwise excellent Return to the 36 Chambers album.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/18/2001
Label: Elektra / Wea
UPC: 0075596268325
catalogNumber: 62683
Rank: 62536

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ol' Dirty Bastard   Primary Artist
Chris Rock   Track Performer
Mariah Carey   Track Performer
Method Man   Track Performer
Mike "Suga" Allen   Drums
Dominick Maybank   Bass,Guitar
Kelis   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Adrian Belew   Composer
Rick James   Composer
Mariah Carey   Composer
Ervin Drake   Composer
Chris Frantz   Composer
RZA   Producer
Steven Stanley   Composer
Kevin Thomas   Engineer
Tina Weymouth   Composer
John Wydrycs   Engineer
Lili Picou   Art Direction
Irv Gotti   Producer
Jonathan Mannion   Cover Photo
Pharrell Williams   Composer,Contributor
Ethan Ryman   Engineer
Dan Fisher   Composer
Irene Higginbotham   Composer
Chad Hugo   Composer,Contributor
Patrick Viala   Engineer
Dave Hall   Composer
Russell Jones   Composer
June Shellene   Composer
Brian Stanley   Engineer

Customer Reviews