Devil Don't Sleep [Bonus Tracks]

Devil Don't Sleep [Bonus Tracks]

by Brantley GilbertBrantley Gilbert


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Brantley Gilbert may sing about not breaking the bro code but he eagerly breaks the code of bro country. That much was apparent on Just as I Am, the 2014 album that generated the smash hit "Bottoms Up," the single that cemented Gilbert's stardom, but The Devil Don't Sleep -- the 2017 sequel to Just as I Am -- makes it plain that Gilbert intends to separate himself from his party-hearty brethren. If Gilbert sounds like anybody, it's Jason Aldean -- Brantley wrote several of Jason's hits including "Dirt Road Anthem," but the connection goes further than that; "Way Back" even has a skittish electronic beat reminiscent of "Burnin' It Down" -- but he manages to spin his grinding minor-key midtempo tunes into a place that doesn't seem morose. Pensive, sure -- Gilbert can make a weekend out partying seem like a brooding affair -- but he rarely seems dour on the bigger, bolder tunes, all of which sound like they're just on the verge of cutting loose. This reticence toward rocking accentuates how Gilbert really doesn't belong among modern country's bros. He's more of a romantic, specializing in lightly soulful slow-burners that wind up complementing his minor-key anthems. If he sometimes gets stuck in sticky sentiments, particularly when writing love songs, he nevertheless pulls himself free through sheer sturdy craft. At 16 tracks, The Devil Don't Sleep is a little bit long -- an impression exacerbated by its slow tempos -- but its individual components are strong, which means even if the album doesn't quite have momentum it's nevertheless always satisfying to sample. [The Devil Don't Sleep was also released with a second disc comprising ten bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 01/27/2017
Label: Valory
UPC: 0843930026456
catalogNumber: 0300
Rank: 161488


Album Credits

Performance Credits

Brantley Gilbert   Primary Artist
Vicki Hampton   Background Vocals
Dann Huff   Banjo,Bouzouki,Dobro,Mandolin,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Synthesizer Bass,wah wah guitar
Chris McHugh   Drums
Gordon Mote   Organ,Piano,Hammond B3
Jimmie Lee Sloas   Bass
Jonathan Yudkin   Mandolin,Cello
Kim Keyes   Background Vocals
Russell Terrell   Background Vocals
Jess Franklin   Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Noah Henson   Guitar
Stephen Lewis   Bass
Charlie Judge   Keyboards
Ilya Toshinskiy   Acoustic Guitar
Ben Sims   Drums
BJ Golden   Organ,Acoustic Guitar,Bouzouki,Mandolin,Electric Guitar,Octave Mandolin

Technical Credits

Tony Martin   Composer
Dann Huff   Programming,Producer
Steve Marcantonio   Engineer
Rhett Akins   Composer
Neil Thrasher   Composer
Brett James   Composer
Mike Dekle   Composer
Blake Chaffin   Composer
Michael Dulaney   Composer
Jess Franklin   Composer
Joby J. Ford   Graphic Design,Art Direction
David Huff   Programming
Bobby Pinson   Composer
Sean McConnell   Composer
Ashley Gorley   Composer
Justin Weaver   Composer
Brantley Gilbert   Composer
Ben Hayslip   Composer
Seth Morton   Engineer
Jayce Hein   Composer
Jeremy Bussey   Composer
Barry Poole   Composer
Brian Davis   Composer
Andrew DeRoberts   Composer,Programming

Customer Reviews