The Democrats: From Jefferson to Clinton

The Democrats: From Jefferson to Clinton

by Robert Rutland, Jimmy Carter

NOOK Book(eBook)

$18.99 $24.95 Save 24% Current price is $18.99, Original price is $24.95. You Save 24%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Interlacing humor into his ongoing narrative, Robert Allen Rutland provides in The Democrats a readable, balanced account of how the Democratic party was founded, evolved, nearly died, and came back in the twentieth century, flourishing as a political melting pot despite numerous setbacks. This updated version of Rutland's much-heralded The Democrats: From Jefferson to Carter provides new insight into the long hiatus in the Democrats' presence in the White House between Carter and Clinton. In additon to analyzing Carter's successes and failures as president, Rutland also examines the forces that went into the Democratic defeats and Republican victories in 1980, 1984, and 1988, concluding with the election of another Jeffersonian Democrat, William Jefferson Clinton. The book ends with an examination of the dramatic results of the 1994 congressional elections that began to alert President Clinton to the challenge he would face in winning reelection in 1996.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780826261540
Publisher: University of Missouri Press
Publication date: 10/01/1995
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 304
File size: 5 MB

About the Author

Robert Allen Rutland is author or editor of numerous books, including The Presidency of James Madison, James Madison:  The Founding Father, and James Madison and the American Nation.  Editor-in-Chief of The Papers of James Madison from 1971 to 1987, Rutland is Research Professor of American History at the University of Tulsa.

Table of Contents

Foreword Carter Jimmy
Chapter One The Jeffersonian Genesis
Chapter Two An Era of Feelings—Good and Bad
Chapter Three The Jacksonian Revival
Chapter Four Democracy or Slavocracy?
Chapter Five Waving the Bloody Shirt
Chapter Six Cleveland: Honest and Lucky
Chapter Seven New Freedom, New Deal, and New Problems
Chapter Eight The Care of Human Life and Happiness
Bibliographical Note

Customer Reviews