The Definitive Collection

The Definitive Collection

by The MavericksThe Mavericks


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, May 14


The Mavericks are one of those bands that inspire such fierce loyalty in fans that any attempt at a "Definitive Collection" that does not contain all of their recordings will be grounds for fiery, impassioned debate. This set from Universal Chronicles goes as far as any single disc can go in attempting to capture the wildly diverse, raucous, and soulful sound of a band that succeeded in spite, not because, of finicky trends in country music. Indeed, the Mavericks embody all of the best elements in country and early rock & roll, and all of their faces are here. All four of the band's MCA albums are represented, as is Mercury Nashville's Super Colossal Smash Hits of the '90s, which was a compilation but also contained six new tracks. And while The Definitive Collection gets some marks for its inclusion of every charting single as well as select album tracks, the rarities are what sets it apart. First is the inclusion of the Nick Lowe-produced version of the Lorenz Hart tune "Blue Moon" from the Apollo 13 soundtrack, and there are also two cuts never before issued in the U.S., "I Don't Care (If You Don't Love Me Anymore)" together with the live "Rancho Grande" from the 1998 Canadian mini-album It's Now! It's Live! With 20 tracks total, great notes by Rich Kienzle, and remastered sound, this is solid compilation that introduces the band to initiates and provides over an hour of listening pleasure for hardcore devotees.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/22/2004
Label: Mca Nashville
UPC: 0602498623107
catalogNumber: 000250102
Rank: 3187


  1. This Broken Heart
  2. From Hell to Paradise
  3. Hey Good Lookin'
  4. What a Crying Shame
  5. I Should Have Been True
  6. There Goes My Heart
  7. O What a Thrill
  8. All That Heaven Would Allow
  9. Missing You
  10. Here Comes the Rain
  11. All You Ever Do Is Bring Me Down
  12. The Writing on the Wall
  13. Blue Moon
  14. I Don't Care (If You Don't Love Me Anymore)
  15. Dance the Night Away
  16. Dream River
  17. To Be With You
  18. Rancho Grande
  19. Think of Me (When You're Lonely)
  20. Here Comes My Baby

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mavericks   Primary Artist
Paul Deakin   Group Member
Flaco Jiménez   Guest Appearance
Raul Malo   Group Member
Robert Reynolds   Group Member
Nick Kane   Group Member
David L. Holt   Group Member

Technical Credits

James House   Composer
Mavericks   Producer
Anderson   Composer
Bruce Springsteen   Composer
Yusuf (Cat Stevens)   Composer
Jesse Winchester   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Richard Bennett   Producer
Don Cook   Producer
Steve Fishell   Producer
Lorenz Hart   Composer
Kostas   Composer
Nick Lowe   Producer
Stan Lynch   Composer
Raul Malo   Composer,Producer
Estella Olson   Composer
Hank Williams   Composer
Rich Kienzle   Liner Notes
Vartan   Art Direction
Michael Lavine   Cover Photo,Inlay Photography
Kelly Martinez   Licensing

Customer Reviews