The Definitive Collection

The Definitive Collection

by Tammy WynetteTammy Wynette


$9.56 $9.99 Save 4% Current price is $9.56, Original price is $9.99. You Save 4%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


As far as this collection goes, it's excellent but hardly definitive. The reason is that virtually all the duets Tammy Wynette cut with former husband George Jones would have to be included, since nearly all were hit singles. Of the two that are here, one wonders why "We're Not the Jet Set" or their joint reading of "Walk Through This World with Me" didn't supplant one of them. That said, there are some fine moments here, including her three classic recordings -- "D-I-V-O-R-C-E," "Stand by Your Man," and "Your Good Girl's Gonna Go Bad" -- and some major hits like "Silver Threads and Golden Needles," among others. But why oh why oh why is her embarrassing duet with Sting on "Every Breath You Take" here? It came off badly -- in part because of the writer's overwrought emotionalism in singing the tune. There are far better collections on Sony; seek them out.

Customer Reviews