The Definitive Collection

The Definitive Collection

by Steely DanSteely Dan


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions


Geffen's 2006 release The Definitive Collection is a mere 16 tracks long, which is a bit short for covering Steely Dan's career. They may not have landed many singles within the Billboard charts -- only 15 between their 1973 debut, Can't Buy a Thrill, and their 2000 comeback, Two Against Nature -- but they had plenty of standards on album rock radio, giving the impression that they had more charting hits than they actually did. This can make compiling a Dan hits collection a little difficult, since concentrating on either the chart singles or the radio staples will wind up giving a misleading impression. The Definitive Collection attempts to negotiate the two: it has the biggest singles -- "Do It Again," "Reeling in the Years," "Rikki Don't Lose That Number," "Deacon Blues," "Peg," "Hey Nighteen" -- and it has such radio favorites as "Bodhisattva," "My Old School," "FM," and "Babylon Sisters." This disc does take into account their new-millennium comeback, pulling "Cousin Dupree" from Two Against Nature and "Things I Miss the Most" from 2003's Everything Must Go, which leaves less space for such Steely Dan standards as "Josie," "Time Out of Mind," "Show Biz Kids," "Any Major Dude Will Tell You," and "Aja." While those songs are missed, listeners wanting a more exhaustive compilation always have the option of purchasing 2000's excellent double-disc set Showbiz Kids: The Steely Dan Story 1972-1980 instead. For those who just want a sampler of many, but not all, of Steely Dan's biggest and best songs, this will suit them fine.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/01/2006
Label: Geffen Records
UPC: 0602498784662
catalogNumber: 000675202

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Steely Dan   Primary Artist
Patti Austin   Background Vocals
Rick Derringer   Guitar
Donald Fagen   Organ,Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards,Electric Piano,Vocals,Background Vocals,fender rhodes,Wurlitzer,Soloist
Michael McDonald   Background Vocals
Larry Carlton   Guitar,Soloist
Pete Christlieb   Flute,Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
Victor Feldman   Percussion,Keyboards,Marimbas,Electric Piano,Vibes,Soloist
Don Grolnick   Keyboards,Electric Piano,Clavinet
Plas Johnson   Flute,Horn,Saxophone
Steve Khan   Guitar
John Klemmer   Horn
Bill Perkins   Flute,Saxophone
Jerome Richardson   Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
Tom Scott   Flute,Saxophone,Alto Clarinet,Lyricon,Clarinet (Tenor)
Wayne Shorter   Flute,Saxophone
Lanny Morgan   Saxophone
Chuck Rainey   Bass
Walt Weiskopf   Background Vocals
Michael Fennelly   Background Vocals
Clydie King   Background Vocals
Elliott Randall   Guitar,Soloist
Gordon Grody   Background Vocals
Walter Becker   Bass,Guitar,Harmonica,Electric Bass,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Soloist
Jeff Baxter   Guitar,Pedal Steel Guitar,spanish guitar,Soloist
Ben Benay   Acoustic Guitar
Errol Crusher Bennett   Percussion
Randy Brecker   Trumpet,Flugelhorn,Soloist
Leroy Clouden   Drums
Gary Coleman   Percussion
Wilton Felder   Bass
Venetta Fields   Background Vocals
Bob Findley   Horn
Chuck Findley   Horn,Brass
Steve Gadd   Percussion
Gordon Gottlieb   Percussion
Diva Gray   Background Vocals
Jay Graydon   Guitar
Paul Griffin   Keyboards,Electric Piano,Background Vocals
Lani Groves   Background Vocals
Patricia Hall   Background Vocals
Jon Herington   Piano
Jim Hodder   Percussion,Drums,Vocals
Jim Horn   Flute,Horn,Saxophone
Royce Jones   Background Vocals
Walter Kane   Bass Clarinet
Jackie Kelso   Flute,Saxophone
George Marge   Bass Clarinet
Rick Marotta   Drums
Myrna Matthews   Background Vocals
Hugh McCracken   Guitar,Piano,Soloist
Lew McCreary   Brass
Leslie Miller   Background Vocals
Roger Nichols   Overdubs
Michael Omartian   Piano,Keyboards
David Paich   Piano,Keyboards
Jeff Porcaro   Percussion,Drums,Dorophone
Dean Parks   Guitar
Bernard "Pretty" Purdie   Drums
Lee Ritenour   Guitar
James Rolleston   Background Vocals
John Rotella   Saxophone
Timothy B. Schmit   Background Vocals
Ernie Watts   Saxophone
Toni Wine   Background Vocals
Snooky Young   Flugelhorn
Denny Dias   Guitar,Electric Sitar,Soloist
Dick Hyde   Horn,Brass
Ted Baker   Piano,fender rhodes
Jerry Garszva   Overdubs
Jon Herrington   Rhythm Guitar
Zack Saunders   Background Vocals
Michael Leonhart   Trumpet
Carolyn Leonhart   Background Vocals
Frank Floyd   Background Vocals
Keith Carlock   Drums
Amy Helm   Human Whistle
David Palmer   Vocals
Jay Grayeon   Soloist
Sherlie Matthews   Background Vocals
David Palmer   Vocals,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Donald Fagen   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Horn Arrangements,Personnel
Larry Carlton   rhythm arrangement
Victor Feldman   Personnel
Don Grolnick   rhythm arrangement
Plas Johnson   Personnel
Rob Mounsey   Horn Arrangements,rhythm arrangement
Jerome Richardson   Personnel
Tom Scott   Horn Arrangements,Horn Conductor
Jim Gordon   Personnel
Walter Becker   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Horn Arrangements,Personnel
Irving Azoff   Management
Ben Benay   Personnel
Wilton Felder   Personnel
Chuck Findley   Horn Arrangements
Paul Griffin   rhythm arrangement
Jimmie Haskell   Orchestration,Saxophone Arrangement
Gary Katz   Producer,Audio Production
Johnny Mandel   String Arrangements
Lew McCreary   Personnel
Ollie Mitchell   Personnel
Roger Nichols   Special Effects,Engineer
Michael Omartian   rhythm arrangement,Personnel
David Paich   Personnel
Jeff Porcaro   Personnel
Dean Parks   rhythm arrangement,Personnel
Elliot Scheiner   Engineer
Schmitt   Engineer
Timothy B. Schmit   Personnel
Bill Schnee   Engineer
Ernie Watts   Personnel
Phil Burnett   Engineer
Chuck Raney   Personnel
Jeri Heiden   Art Direction
Dave Russell   Engineer
Wendel   Special Effects
Ryan Null   Photo Coordination
Yusuf Tuvi   Cover Photo

Customer Reviews