Pub. Date:
The Definitive Collection

The Definitive Collection

by Sammy Davis Jr.Sammy Davis Jr.


$8.39 $11.99 Save 30% Current price is $8.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 30%.


Sammy Davis, Jr. was an outsized talent. Whether dancing or singing or acting (or drumming, or doing impersonations), he spent more energy, carried more emotion, and involved himself more deeply in his performances than any other artist of his caliber. His earliest hit material -- "Something's Gotta Give," "Love Me or Leave Me," "That Old Black Magic" -- signalled the advent of a show-biz vocalist who could blow the roof off the joint like a blues shouter, and though Davis was impeccably refined, he was obviously channeling Broadway figures like Ethel Merman or Al Jolson rather than the mellowed, mellifluous sound of swing-influenced vocalists. (As such, he earned more fans in the showrooms of Las Vegas than the nightclubs of New York.) Hip-O's Definitive Collection is not only a fine compilation of Sammy Davis, Jr. highlights, it's the best single-disc overview of his career, beginning with his '50s Decca material and ending in the mid-'70s, when his hits petered out after a late chart-topper ("The Candy Man"). It features all of his hits and it's the first single-disc compilation to include songs from every one of his movie or Broadway hits -- "Too Close for Comfort" (Mr. Wonderful), "There's a Boat Dat's Leavin' Soon for New York" (Porgy and Bess), "Night Song" (Golden Boy), "The Rhythm of Life" (Sweet Charity), "The Candy Man" (Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory), even "Keep Your Eye on the Sparrow (Baretta's Theme)." It also includes a pair of well-chosen album tracks, "My Shining Hour" from his collaboration with the Count Basie Orchestra, and "Lonely Is the Name," the title song from a very good mid-'60s LP.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/22/2006
Label: Hip-O Records
UPC: 0602498848982
catalogNumber: 000537802
Rank: 7630


  1. Hey There
  2. The Birth of the Blues
  3. Something's Gotta Give
  4. Love Me or Leave Me
  5. That Old Black Magic
  6. Too Close for Comfort
  7. There's a Boat Dat's Leavin' Soon for New York
  8. The Lady Is a Tramp
  9. What Kind of Fool Am I?
  10. Gonna Build a Mountain
  11. The Shelter of Your Arms
  12. Night Song
  13. My Shining Hour
  14. Lonely Is the Name
  15. I've Gotta Be Me
  16. The Rhythm of Life
  17. The Candy Man
  18. Mr. Bojangles
  19. The People Tree
  20. Keep Your Eye on the Sparrow (Baretta's Theme)

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sammy Davis   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Cy Coleman   Composer
Quincy Jones   Arranger
Ralph Burns   Orchestration
Sy Oliver   Arranger
Harold Arlen   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Jerry Ross   Composer
Jerry Bock   Composer
Richard Adler   Composer
Perry Botkin   Arranger
Jimmy Bowen   Producer
Don Costa   Arranger,Producer
Dave Grusin   Arranger
Mike Curb   Producer
Charles Bud Dant   Producer
Jim Davis   Producer
Buddy DeSylva   Composer
Dorothy Fields   Composer
Lorenz Hart   Composer
Dick Jones   Producer
Marty Paich   Arranger
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Richard Wess   Arranger
Mort Stevens   Arranger
J.J. Walker   Composer
David Ritz   Liner Notes
Michael Viner   Producer
Walter Marks   Composer
Ryan Null   Photo Coordination

Customer Reviews