The Deepest End: Live in Concert

The Deepest End: Live in Concert

by Gov't MuleGov't Mule


$20.50 $20.99 Save 2% Current price is $20.5, Original price is $20.99. You Save 2%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Given all the live documents Gov't Mule issued since the premature death of bassist Allen Woody, The Deepest End is easily the most satisfying. Recorded and filmed during the 2003 Jazz and Heritage Festival in New Orleans, the show features the most astonishing array of guest bassists yet, and so many other guests the date was like a festival unto itself. Among the bassists preset for a night of music that began at 10:10 p.m. and ended at 3:35 a.m. were Jack Casady, Les Claypool, Roger Glover, Will Lee, Jason Newsted, Rob Wasserman, Victor Wooten, George Porter, Jr., Conrad Lozano, and a half-dozen others. Other musicians participating in the festivities -- many of whom who had gigs in the Crescent City at the same time -- include David Hidalgo, Bernie Worrell, Fred Wesley, Karl Denson, Sonny Landreth, the Dirty Dozen Brass Band horns, Béla Fleck, and Ivan Neville. There are two CDs, packed to the gills with music from that evening. The mixture of covers and Gov't Mule originals is, to say the very least, captivating: from the opener "Bad Little Doggie" (given its definitive on-tape version here) and "Lay of the Sunflower" to "Goin' Down" and "John the Revelator." The sound is warm and the mix very fluid, very live. The performance is completely inspired and jaw-droppingly sophisticated despite its spontaneity. There are 20 tracks over the pair of CDs, accounting for two hours and 34 minutes total playing time, and the DVD features 20 more and lasts over three hours. There are some major differences in tracks between the CDs and DVDs, making it pretty much essential for Mule fans: covers of "Wasted Time," "Sweet Leaf," "Politician," "Voodoo Chile," and a heft dose of Mule originals. All told, this and Rush's stellar In Rio triple disc are easily the live recorded events of 2003.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/13/2008
Label: Evangeline
UPC: 0805772407022
catalogNumber: 4070
Rank: 36979


Disc 1

  1. Bad Little Doggie
  2. Game Face
  3. Larger Than Life
  4. Blindman in the Dark
  5. Which Way Do We Run?
  6. Fool's Moon
  7. Sco-Mule
  8. Patchwork Quilt
  9. Lay of the Sunflower
  10. John the Revelator

Disc 2

  1. Beautifully Broken
  2. Time to Confess
  3. Banks of the Deep End
  4. 32/20 Blues
  5. Goin' Down
  6. Slow Happy Boys
  7. I Shall Return
  8. Trying Not to Fall
  9. Drivin' Rain
  10. Soulshine

Disc 3

  1. Bad Little Doggie
  2. Blindman in the Dark
  3. Sco-Mule
  4. Lay of the Sunflower
  5. John the Revelator
  6. Chameleon
  7. Beautifully Broken
  8. Mule
  9. Banks of the Deep End
  10. On Your Way Down
  11. Down and Out in New York City
  12. Maybe I'm a Leo
  13. Voodoo Chile
  14. Politician
  15. Guitar Solo - Drum Solo
  16. Sweet Leaf
  17. War Pigs
  18. Greasy Granny's Gopher Gravy, Pts. 1-2
  19. Wasted Time
  20. Thorazine Shuffle

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Gov't Mule   Primary Artist
Ivan Neville   Keyboards
Bernie Worrell   Organ,Keyboards
Rob Wasserman   Bass
Roger Glover   Bass
Sonny Landreth   Slide Guitar
Warren Haynes   Guitar,Vocals,Slide Guitar,Group Member
Matt Abts   Drums,Group Member
Jack Casady   Bass
Claypool   Bass,Vocals
Béla Fleck   Electric Banjo
David Hidalgo   Guitar,Vocals
Paul Jackson   Bass
Will Lee   Bass
Roger Lewis   Baritone Saxophone,Group Member
Conrad Lozano   Bass
Jason Newsted   Bass
George Porter   Bass,Background Vocals
Greg Rzab   Bass
Dave Schools   Bass
Efrem Towns   Trumpet,Group Member
Fred Wesley   Trombone
Victor Wooten   Bass
Karl Denson   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Danny Louis   Keyboards,Background Vocals,Clavinet,Group Member
Julius McKee   Sousaphone,Group Member
Sammie Williams   Trombone,Group Member
Eill Lee   Bass

Technical Credits

Jack Bruce   Composer
Ian Gillan   Composer
Don Henley   Composer
Ozzy Osbourne   Composer
Prince   Composer
Herbie Hancock   Composer
Bennie Maupin   Composer
Barry De Vorzon   Composer
Robert Hunter   Composer
Ritchie Blackmore   Composer
Roger Glover   Composer
Jon Lord   Composer
Don Nix   Composer
Warren Haynes   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Liner Notes
Matt Abts   Arranger,Composer
Pete Brown   Composer
Geezer Butler   Composer
Claypool   Composer
Brian Farmer   Guitar Techician,Stage Manager,Bass Technician
Glenn Frey   Composer
Chris Hanson   Contributor
Jimi Hendrix   Composer
Tony Iommi   Composer
Paul Jackson   Composer
Robert Johnson   Composer
Roger Lewis   Arranger
Harvey Mason   Composer
Van Morrison   Composer
Ian Paice   Composer
Allen Toussaint   Composer
Efrem Towns   Arranger
Randy Ward   Contributor
Allen Woody   Composer
Danny Louis   Composer
Bodie Chandler   Composer
Bill Ward   Composer
Mike Montero   Engineer
Sully   Composer
Mike Gordon   Composer
Godsmack   Composer
Julius McKee   Arranger
Sandy Morgan   Engineer
Traditional   Composer
Paul Epstein   Interviewer
Dave Landry   Camera Operator
John Johnson   Contributor
Sammie Williams   Arranger
Stefani Scamardo   Executive Producer,Management
Chris Tetzeli   Executive Producer
Amy Weller   Producer,Camera Operator
Peter Banta   Tour Manager
Wendell Basinger   Camera Operator
Scott Combel   Camera Operator
Michael Drum   Video Producer,Video Director
Charlie Faciane   Camera Operator
Tim Fenoglio   Producer,Camera Operator
Mike Filippi   Camera Operator
Mark "Sarge" Fulton   Monitor Engineer

Customer Reviews