The Cosmic Game

The Cosmic Game

by Thievery Corporation Thievery Corporation


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 2


Protest music rarely goes down with the ease of a top-shelf martini. But leave it to Washington, D.C., duo Thievery Corporation to whip up a sonic cocktail that's equal parts conscience and style. Partners in crime Rob Garza and Eric Hilton take inspiration from deep record collections -- sampling Latin jazz and Bacharach pop to ska, dub, and sounds from the Middle and Far East -- and their youthful days on the progressive fringe of D.C.'s counterculture, listening to leaflet-toting bands like Fugazi. It all comes together on Thievery Corp's fourth album, The Cosmic Game, with a twist -- an appropriately global dose of psychedelia. Songs like "Warning Shots," featuring dancehall MC Sleepy Wonder and Indian singer Gunjan, and "Amerimacka," with Jamaican singer Notch, suggest the meditative side of ska, infusing popular Western sounds with island riddims and cries from the oppressed. There are also forays down south (the Latin-flavored "Sol Tapado," featuring Cape Verdean singer Patrick de Santos) and out east (the sitar-infused "Doors of Perception," again featuring Gunjan). But this disc leans more heavily on rock sounds than its predecessors, with guest shots from the Flaming Lips (on the woozy "Marching the Hate Machines into the Sun," which evokes Zero 7), Perry Farrell (the spacey "Revolution Solution"), and David Byrne (the more up-tempo "The Heart's a Lonely Hunter"), broadening the mind in more ways than one. They may have been the unwitting progenitors of down-tempo dance music, but Garza and Hilton's brainy spin on lounge proves they're interested in more than velvet-rope fabulousness. This cabal aims to push boundaries, both musical and otherwise.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 02/22/2005
Label: Eighteenth Street
UPC: 0795103008120
catalogNumber: 81
Rank: 88244


  1. Marching the Hate Machines (Into the Sun)
  2. Warning Shots
  3. Revolution Solution
  4. The Cosmic Game
  5. Satyam Shivam Sundaram
  6. Amerimacka
  7. Ambicion Eterna
  8. Pela Janela
  9. Sol Tapado
  10. The Heart's a Lonely Hunter
  11. Holographic Universe
  12. Doors of Perception
  13. Wires and Watchtowers
  14. The Supreme Illusion
  15. The Time We Lost Our Way
  16. A Gentle Dissolve

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Thievery Corporation   Primary Artist
David Byrne   Vocals
Flaming Lips   Guitar,Vocals
Perry Farrell   Vocals
Eric Hilton   Various,electronics
John Nelson   Percussion
Frank Orrall   Percussion,Tabla,Vocals
Rick Harris   Horn
Robertito "La Guira" Santos   Percussion,Berimbau
Rob Garza   Various,electronics
Sleepy Wonder   Vocals
Bryan Mills   Horn
Gunjan   Vocals
Loulou Djine   Vocals
Notch   Vocals
Patrick DeSantos   Vocals,Track Performer
Jim McFalls   Horn
Arjuna Pashwami   Sitar
Gigi Rezende   Vocals
Sista Pat   Vocals
Verny Varela   Vocals
Brad Clements   Horn
Gigi Rezende   Vocals

Technical Credits

Flaming Lips   Orchestration
Eric Hilton   Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Michael Ivins   Composer
Rob Garza   Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Neal Ashby   Photo Illustration
John J. Moore   Photo Illustration
Chris "Stone" Garrett   Engineer

Customer Reviews