The Consummate Collector: William Beckford's Letters to his Bookseller

The Consummate Collector: William Beckford's Letters to his Bookseller

by Robert J. Gemmett


Usually ships within 1 week


This collection of over 350 letters written by William Beckford to his bookseller George Clarke over the years 1830 to 1834, gives a vivid picture of the insatiable connoisseur in the act of gathering the books and prints that ultimately became part of the library of the Duke of Hamilton, sold in 1882. This correspondence, with the addition of Clarke’s own letters to Beckford, constitutes the most complete documentary record of Beckford’s collecting habits and literary pursuits in existence. They are significant as historical documents that guide the reader into the golden age of the London book trade with its array of wealthy collectors, publishing houses, auction firms, book and print dealers. They also shed light on the negotiations with the publisher Richard Bentley for the publication of Italy; with Sketches of Spain and Portugal and trace the anxiety Beckford experienced in his fruitless efforts to sell the Episodes of Vathek. The editor’s explanatory notes are comprehensive, revealing Beckford’s enthusiasms and the fury of his attack against competitors in the field. The Consummate Collector will be warmly received by bibliophiles, historians, and readers interested in one of the most fascinating men of his time.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781781553268
Publisher: Fonthill Media
Publication date: 01/02/2015
Pages: 336
Product dimensions: 6.30(w) x 9.30(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Robert J. Gemmett , Professor Emeritus of English, State University of New York, lives in Rye, New Hampshire. He is the author of 'William Beckford and Beckford’s Fonthill the Rise of a Romantic Icon'. His most recent work is a new edition of 'The Consummate Collector William Beckford’s Letters to His Bookseller'. He has also published editions of 'Biographical Memoirs of Extraordinary Painters', 'Dreams, Waking Thoughts and Incidents', 'Vathek', the 1786 and 1787 Editions, 'The Episodes of Vathek', 'Modern Novel Writing' and 'Azemia'.

Customer Reviews