The Complete Wooden Nickel Recordings

The Complete Wooden Nickel Recordings

by StyxStyx


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Remastered and repackaged, this is a treasure trove for die-hard Styx fanatics waiting for a proper reissue of their early works. But casual buyers best beware: this isn't the Styx that sang "Come Sail Away" or "Mr. Roboto," but a different though no less enjoyable group altogether. This two-disc set comprises their first four records under the Wooden Nickel imprint: Styx, Styx II, The Serpent Is Rising and Man of Miracles. While the arena rock anthems and compositional sensibilities are underdeveloped, the pomposity of their prog rock roots clearly shines through with the inclusion of "Fanfare for the Common Man," "Little Fugue in G" and the "Hallelujah" chorus from Handel's "Messiah." It's also a document showcasing the evolution of their flare for theatrics and storytelling, which didn't entirely put them on par with their British and Italian prog rock counterparts, but close enough for people to take notice. Aside from "Lady," there isn't much here that casual listeners will identify with, but Styx loyalists will be pleased with proper documentation of the group's formative years, something all too neglected until now.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/15/2005
Label: Hip-O Records
UPC: 0075021034310
catalogNumber: 000392202
Rank: 23585

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Styx   Primary Artist,Voices
Dennis DeYoung   Synthesizer,Keyboards,Vocals,Group Member
James Young   Guitar,Vocals
John Curulewski   Synthesizer,Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Chuck Panozzo   Bass Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
John Panozzo   Percussion,Drums,Vocals,Group Member
Bill Traut   Saxophone
James "Jockey" Young   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member

Technical Credits

Aaron Copland   Composer
George Frideric Handel   Composer
Styx   Producer
Paul Beaver   Composer
Dennis DeYoung   Composer
James Young   Composer
Mark Gaddis   Composer
Johann Sebastian Bach   Composer
John Curulewski   Composer
Barry Fasman   Arranger,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Marty Feldman   Engineer
Paul Frank   Composer
Bernie Krause   Composer
Gary Loizzo   Engineer
Lewis Mark   Composer
Barry Mraz   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
John Ryan   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Bill Traut   Producer,Executive Producer,Audio Production
Beau Charles   Composer
Buddy Randell   Composer
Dave Hecht   Cover Photo
Acy Lehman   Art Direction
Rick Young   Composer
Charles Lofrano   Composer
Ray Brandle   Composer
Ryan Null   Photo Coordination
Martin Huxley   Liner Notes,Essay
Murray Laden   Cover Photo
Bob Miles   Cover Design,Paintings
Hishan Muthucumaru   Cover Art

Customer Reviews