The Complete Singles As & Bs: 1951-62

The Complete Singles As & Bs: 1951-62

by Elmore JamesElmore James


$16.95 $16.99 Save 0% Current price is $16.95, Original price is $16.99. You Save 0%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Before his untimely death in 1963, blues guitarist Elmore James was one of the most influential players in the genre, with a distinctive sound that would inspire everyone from Stevie Ray Vaughan to the Rolling Stones. Though he covered a variety of different blues styles throughout the 1950s, his unique, amped-up tone came from a standard acoustic guitar that he had modified with electric pick-ups. This two-disc collection from the Acrobat label covers all of James' A- & B-side singles from his 1951 debut to the year just before his death. His cover of Robert Johnson's "Dust My Broom" would become one of his signature songs and it leads off this 54-track collection, which also includes standouts like "The Sky Is Crying," "Rollin' and Tumblin'," and "Early in the Morning." This is a solid introduction to one of the post-war blues' biggest icons.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/11/2015
Label: Acrobat
UPC: 0824046314323
catalogNumber: 3143
Rank: 66719

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Elmore James   Primary Artist,Guitar,Saxophone,Vocals
Willie Dixon   Bass
Sam Myers   Drums
Eddie Taylor   Bass,Guitar
Johnny Jones   Piano
Oliver Sain   Bass,Alto Saxophone
Homesick James Williamson   Guitar,Bass Guitar
Johnny Acey   Piano
Boyd Atkins   Tenor Saxophone
Fred Below   Drums
Wayne Bennett   Guitar
J.T. Brown   Tenor Saxophone,Vocals
Sammy Lee Bully   Bass
Maxwell Davis   Tenor Saxophone
Frank Fields   Bass
Edward Frank   Piano
Ralph Hamilton   Bass
Henry "Sneaky Joe" Harris   Drums
Raymond Hill   Tenor Saxophone
Ike Turner   Guitar,Piano,Drums
Syl Johnson   Guitar
Ransom Knowling   Bass
Willard McDaniel   Piano
Frock O'Dell   Drums
Earl Palmer   Drums,Background Vocals
James Parr   Trumpet
Riff Ruffin   Guitar
Jesse Sailes   Drums
Wild Jimmy Spruill   Guitar
Johnny "Big Moose" Walker   Piano
Leonard Ware   Bass
Paul Williams   Bass
Sonny Boy Williamson [II]   Harmonica
Danny Moore   Trumpet,Tenor Saxophone
Johnny Williams   Drums
Andrew Thomas   Guitar,Vocals
Sammy Myers   Harmonica
Jewell Grant   Bass
Odie Payne   Drums
King Mose Tayler   Drums

Technical Credits

Leroy Carr   Composer
J.T. Brown   Composer
Elmore James   Arranger,Composer
Robert Johnson   Composer
Clarence Lewis   Composer
Morgan Robinson   Composer
Marshall Sehorn   Composer
Hudson Whittaker   Composer
Bobby Robinson   Composer
Joe Josea   Arranger,Composer
Jules Taub   Composer
Sam Ling   Composer
Joe Bihari   Composer
Saul Bihari   Composer
Robert Petway   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Paul Watts   Liner Notes
Melvin London   Composer

Customer Reviews