The Complete Set: 1922-1925

The Complete Set: 1922-1925

by New Orleans Rhythm KingsNew Orleans Rhythm Kings




1922-1925 Complete Set contains all that is essential from the New Orleans Rhythm Kings, arguably the finest small combo white jazz group of the early '20s. Comprised of Paul Mares on cornet, George Brunies on trombone, and Leon Roppolo on clarinet, along with a rotating rhythm section, the Kings specialized in energetic early Dixieland pieces. Included here are four historic tracks they did with pianist Jelly Roll Morton ("Clarinet Marmalade," "Mr. Jelly Lord," "Milenberg Joys," "Sobbin' Blues") and several sides recorded as Paul Mares and His Friars Society Orchestra.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/30/2001
Label: Challenge
UPC: 0608917903126
catalogNumber: 79031

Album Credits

Performance Credits

New Orleans Rhythm Kings   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Scott Joplin   Composer
Ben Pollack   Composer
Eddie Edwards   Composer
Nick LaRocca   Composer
Jimmy McHugh   Composer
Georg Brunis   Composer
Marvin Lee   Composer
Paul Mares   Composer
Henry W. Ragas   Composer
Leon Roppolo   Composer
Tony Sbarbaro   Composer
Elmer Schoebel   Composer
Larry Shields   Composer
Bert Williams   Composer
Jules Cassard   Composer
Dudley Mecum   Composer
Ray Lopez   Composer
Henry Brunies   Composer
Harry Da Costa   Composer
Alcide "Yellow" Nunez   Composer
Bobby Heath   Composer
Robinson   Composer
Melville Stitzel   Composer
Victor Burton   Composer

Customer Reviews