The Complete Recorded Works, Vol. 3: Rhythm and Romance

The Complete Recorded Works, Vol. 3: Rhythm and Romance

by Fats WallerFats Waller


$28.92 $28.99 Save 0% Current price is $28.92, Original price is $28.99. You Save 0%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 15


The third volume in JSP's massive library of Fats Waller's Complete Recorded Works brings together all of the commercial studio recordings he made between November 16, 1934, and August 1, 1936. The first four tracks ("African Ripples," "Clothes Line Ballet," "Alligator Crawl," and "Viper's Drag") serve as an excellent prologue, for these are some of the choicest piano solos of Waller's entire career. The other 99 selections document the explosive success of Fats Waller & His Rhythm, a powerful little sextet that found itself doubled into a 12-piece big band on "Fat and Greasy," "Functionizin'," and the riotously rowdy "I Got Rhythm." Expertly remastered and chronologically presented, Waller's works at last receive the special handling they so richly deserve. Alternate takes are stashed at the end of disc four, except for half a dozen instrumentals that served well as flip sides of the original 78-rpm platters and work even better as wordless continuations of the vocal takes: "I'm a Hundred Per Cent for You," "Baby Brown," "I Ain't Got Nobody," "Whose Honey Are You?," "Rosetta," and "What's the Reason (I'm Not Pleasin' You?)." The fourth disc also contains everything recorded at the brilliantly creative session that took place on June 8, 1936: "Black Raspberry Jam," "Bach Up to Me" (a bowed bass feature for Charles Turner), "Fractious Fingering," "Paswonky," "Lounging at the Waldorf," and "Latch On." While the previous volumes in this series are vitally important and endlessly fascinating, Vol. 3 is by far the best possible choice for anyone who wants and needs a definitive dose of Fats Waller's greatest recorded performances.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/20/2007
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065904623
catalogNumber: 946
Rank: 102368


Disc 1

  1. African Ripples
  2. Clothes Line Ballet
  3. Alligator Crawl
  4. Viper's Drag
  5. I'm a Hundred Per Cent for You
  6. I'm a Hundred Per Cent for You
  7. Baby Brown
  8. Baby Brown
  9. Night Wind
  10. Because of Once Upon a Time
  11. I Believe in Miracles
  12. You Fit into the Picture
  13. Louisiana Fairy Tale
  14. I Ain't Got Nobody
  15. I Ain't Got Nobody
  16. Whose Honey Are You?
  17. Whose Honey Are You?
  18. Rosetta
  19. Rosetta
  20. Pardon My Love
  21. What's the Reason (I'm Not Pleasin' You?)
  22. What's the Reason (I'm Not Pleasin' You?)
  23. Cinders
  24. (Oh Suzannah) Dust off That Old Pianna
  25. Lulu's Back in Town
  26. Sweet and Slow

Disc 2

  1. You've Been Taking Lessons in Love
  2. You're the Cutest One
  3. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter
  4. Hate to Talk About Myself
  5. Dinah
  6. Take It Easy
  7. You're the Picture (I'm the Frame)
  8. My Very Good Friend the Milkman
  9. Blue Because of You
  10. There's Going to Be the Devil to Pay
  11. 12th Street Rag
  12. There'll Be Some Changes Made
  13. Somebody Stole My Gal
  14. Sweet Sue
  15. Truckin'
  16. Sugar Blues
  17. Just as Long as the World Goes 'Round and 'Round
  18. Georgia Rockin' Chair
  19. Brother, Seek and Ye Shall Find
  20. The Girl I Left Behind Me
  21. You're So Darn Charming
  22. Woe! Is Me
  23. Rhythm and Romance
  24. Loafin' Time
  25. A Sweet Beginning Like This

Disc 3

  1. Got a Bran' New Suit
  2. I'm on a See-Saw
  3. Thief in the Night
  4. When Somebody Thinks You're Wonderful
  5. I've Got My Fingers Crossed
  6. Spreadin' Rhythm Around
  7. A Little Bit Independent
  8. You Stayed Away Too Long
  9. Sweet Thing
  10. Fat and Greasy
  11. Functionizin'
  12. I Got Rhythm
  13. The Panic Is On
  14. Sugar Rose
  15. Oooh! Look-A-There, Ain't She Pretty?
  16. Moon Rose
  17. West Wind
  18. That Never to Be Forgotten Night
  19. Sing an Old Fashioned Song
  20. Garbo Green
  21. All My Life
  22. Christopher Columbus
  23. Cross Patch
  24. It's No Fun
  25. Cabin in the Sky

Disc 4

  1. Us on a Bus
  2. Stay
  3. It's a Sin to Tell a Lie
  4. The More I Know You
  5. You're Not the Kind
  6. Why Do I Lie to Myself About You?
  7. Let's Sing Again
  8. Big Chief de Sota
  9. Black Raspberry Jam
  10. Bach Up to Me
  11. Fractious Fingering
  12. Paswonky
  13. Lounging at the Waldorf
  14. Latch On
  15. I'm Crazy 'Bout My Baby
  16. I Just Made Up with That Old Girl of Mine
  17. Until the Real Thing Comes Along
  18. There Goes My Attraction
  19. The Curse of an Aching Heart
  20. Bye, Bye, Baby
  21. Louisiana Fairy Tale
  22. Sweet Sue
  23. Lulu's Back in Town
  24. You're So Darn Charming
  25. Fat and Greasy
  26. Black Raspberry Jam
  27. The Curse of an Aching Heart

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Fats Waller   Primary Artist,Organ,Piano,Celeste,Vocals,Vibes,Soloist,Spoken Word
Bill Coleman   Trumpet
Benny Morton   Trombone
Herman Autrey   Trumpet
Arnold Boling   Drums
Bob Carroll   Tenor Saxophone
Hank Duncan   Piano
Slick Jones   Drums
Yank Porter   Drums
Rudy Powell   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Gene Sedric   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
James Smith   Guitar
Charles Turner   String Bass
Harry Dial   Drums,Vibes
Emmett Matthews   Soprano Saxophone
Benny Morton's All Stars   Trombone
Elizabeth Handy   Vocals
Harry Dial's Blusicians   Drums,Vibes
Albert Casey   Guitar
James "Hal" Smith   Guitar

Technical Credits

Ted Kendall   Author
Don Donaldson   Arranger
Alex Hill   Arranger
Drew Kent   Sleeve Notes

Customer Reviews