The Complete RCA Recordings, Vol. 1

The Complete RCA Recordings, Vol. 1

by Tito PuenteTito Puente
1 New & Used Starting at $49.57


The Complete RCA Recordings is the ultimate, most inclusive documentation of the formative and perhaps finest years in the career of the great Latin jazzman, Tito Puente. Comprised of a whopping 108 tracks, this slipcased set of six discs covers the material Puente recorded for the RCA label from 1949 to 1951 and from 1955 to 1960. Composer, bandleader, master of the timbales, and a more than proficient multi-instrumentalist, Puente was arguably Latin music's first crossover artist -- and the evidence is all here. Witness the mambo and cha-cha sides culled from his first 78 rpms that got put Palladium dancers in a frenzy ("Ran Kan Kan"), the big-band santería splendor of 1956's Cuban Carnival, the commercial outings of 1959's Dancing Under Latin Skies, or the progressive textural adventures of 1960's Revolving Bandstand -- with each passing year, the Puente only sound grows hotter. The 1956 take of "Pa' Los Rumberos" is a thrill, racing along at breakneck speed as Tito tears it up on the timbales. Fifteen years later, Carlos Santana gave it his rumbling rock signature on Santana III, adding to the debt he owed T. P. for his smash version of "Oye Como Va" on Abraxas. Puente's seminal collaborations with such percussionists as Ray Barretto, Willie Bobo, and Mongo Santamaría are here too. Rarities include a sultry version of "Hong Kong Mambo" with Puente playing an extended marimba solo, and the strident, jarring horn arrangement of "Cuban Nightmare." A booklet featuring bilingual commentary by journalist Fernando Gonzalez and Puente's longtime friends from El Barrio (the New York City neighborhood where he was born) provides a welcome context to the tunes. After so many years out-of-print, the material on The Complete RCA Years at last paints a vivid portrait of classic Puente. Long live el rey!

Product Details

Release Date: 09/25/2001
Label: Rca Intl
UPC: 0743218847424
catalogNumber: 88474


Disc 1

  1. Ran Kan Kan
  2. Guayaba
  3. Chang
  4. Lágrimas Negras
  5. Ariñañara
  6. Tuxedo Junction
  7. Lare Lare
  8. Swingin' the Mambo
  9. Donde Estabas Tu
  10. Take the "A" Train
  11. Picadillo
  12. Mi Chiquita Quiere Guarachar
  13. Cuál Es la Idea (What's the Idea)
  14. Cao Cao Mani Picao
  15. El Baile del Pingüino
  16. Candido
  17. Para Que Sufran Los Pollos
  18. Tu No Eres Nadie

Disc 2

  1. Cuban Nightmare
  2. Por Tu Amor
  3. Mambozooka
  4. Mama Inez
  5. Elegua Chango
  6. Cuál Es la Idea (What's the Idea)
  7. Pá los Rumberos (For Dancers)
  8. Guaguancó Margarito
  9. Yambeque
  10. Havana After Dark
  11. Flying Down To Rio
  12. Lotus Land
  13. Lucky Dog
  14. Tito 'In
  15. Sin Amor
  16. No Me Obligues
  17. Cubarama
  18. Así Es Como Era (Malibú)

Disc 3

  1. Cha Charuguao
  2. Guaririambo
  3. Calypso Blues
  4. Cubana Bay
  5. Minor Moods (Midnight Lament)
  6. The Floozie
  7. Mambo Beat
  8. Night Ritual
  9. Duerme (Time Was)
  10. Lullaby of the Leaves
  11. Noche De Ronda
  12. Son De La Loma
  13. Ecstasy
  14. La Ola Marina
  15. What a Diff'rence a Day Makes (Cuando Vuelva a Tu Lado)
  16. Eléquana
  17. Mon-Ti
  18. Ti Mon Bo

Disc 4

  1. Camellia
  2. Happy Land Of Hunza
  3. Mambo Gozón
  4. Llego Mijan
  5. Hong Kong Mambo
  6. Mi Chiquita Quiere Bembe
  7. Cuando Te Vea
  8. Cha Kee Ta
  9. Cute Chick
  10. Black Pearl
  11. Brazil
  12. Yucatan
  13. Miramar
  14. Acapulco
  15. Yours
  16. Port Au Pleasure
  17. Dancing Under Latin Skies
  18. Cuban Pete

Disc 5

  1. Campanitas De Cristal
  2. El Bajo
  3. El Palo
  4. Cha-Cha-Son
  5. Cha-Cha-Gua
  6. Chanchullo
  7. Delisse
  8. Suave Asi
  9. Guataca
  10. The Jazz Theme
  11. That Old Devil Moon (In Your Eyes)
  12. Tito's Theme
  13. Grossinger's Cha Cha Cha
  14. I Love Paris
  15. Miami Beach Cha Cha Chá (Miami Beach Rumba)
  16. How High the Moon
  17. Puente At Grossinger's
  18. Philadelphia Mambo

Disc 6

  1. Cuero Pelao
  2. Son Montuno
  3. Dance Of The Headhunters
  4. Voodoo Dance At Midnight
  5. Witch Doctor's Nightmare
  6. Jungle Holiday
  7. Dance Mania
  8. Una Mujer
  9. A Gozar Timbero
  10. Cua Cua
  11. Separala Tambien
  12. Baila Como Es
  13. Baia (Ma Baixa Do Sapateiro)
  14. La Virgen de la Macarena
  15. Temptation
  16. Autumn Leaves
  17. Kiss Of Fire
  18. The Continental

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tito Puente   Primary Artist,Timbales,Vocals
Tito Puente & His Orchestra   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Cachao   Composer
Tito Puente   Composer
Nacio Herb Brown   Composer
Arthur Freed   Composer
Nancy Hamilton   Composer
Luis Varona   Composer
Fernando Gonzalez   Liner Notes
Jose Norman   Composer
Ernesto Duarte Brito   Composer
Lisette Lorenzo   Artwork
Joe Young   Composer
Bernice Petkere   Composer
Morgan Lewis   Composer
Gabriel Luna   Composer
Ortiz Calero   Composer
Miguel Prado   Composer
Bernardino Monterede   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews