The Complete Decca Recordings

The Complete Decca Recordings

by Count Basie


8 New & Used Starting at $12.59


This magnificent three-disc set has the first 63 recordings by Count Basie's Orchestra, all of his Deccas. The consistency is remarkable (with not more than two or three turkeys) and the music is the epitome of swing. With such soloists as Lester Young and Herschel Evans on tenors, trumpeters Buck Clayton and Harry "Sweets" Edison, the great blues singer Jimmy Rushing, and that brilliant rhythm section of Basie, guitarist Freddie Green, bassist Walter Page, and drummer Jo Jones, the music is timeless. It's all here: "One O'Clock Jump," "Sent for You Yesterday," "Blue and Sentimental," "Jumpin' at the Woodside," "Jive at Five," and many others. This is the first Count Basie collection to acquire and should be in every jazz collection.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/17/1992
Label: Verve
UPC: 0011105061124
catalogNumber: 611

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Count Basie   Primary Artist,Piano
Chu Berry   Tenor Saxophone
Buck Clayton   Trumpet
Freddie Green   Guitar
Helen Humes   Vocals
Jo Jones   Drums
Jimmy Rushing   Vocals
Lester Young   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Benny Morton   Trombone
Walter Page   Bass
Shad Collins   Trumpet
Eddie Durham   Guitar,Trombone
Herschel Evans   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Karl George   Trumpet
George Hunt   Trombone
Joe Keyes   Trumpet
Dan Minor   Trombone
Caughey Roberts   Alto Saxophone
Jack Washington   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Dicky Wells   Trombone
Claude "Fiddler" Williams   Guitar
Ed Lewis   Trumpet
Bob Moore   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Leroy Carr   Composer
Count Basie   Arranger,Composer
Buck Clayton   Arranger
Harry Edison   Composer,Contributor
Helen Humes   Contributor
Jimmy Rushing   Composer,Contributor
Andy Gibson   Composer
Buster Smith   Arranger,Composer
Don Redman   Arranger
Richard M. Jones   Composer
Clay Boland   Composer
L. Charles   Composer
Dave Grusin   Executive Producer
Gene DePaul   Composer
Eddie Durham   Arranger,Composer
Herschel Evans   Composer,Contributor
Fletcher Henderson   Arranger
Arthur Freed   Composer
Orrin Keepnews   Reissue Producer
Don Kirkpatrick   Arranger
Jerry Livingston   Composer
Sonny Mediana   Graphic Design
Rufus G. Perryman   Composer
Don Raye   Composer
Larry Rosen   Executive Producer
James Van Heusen   Composer
J. Mayo Williams   Composer
Hersal Thomas   Composer
Edgar Battle   Composer
Willie Bryant   Composer
David Gibb   Graphic Design
Andy Ruggirello   Graphic Design
L. Wolfe Gilbert   Composer
Mack David   Composer
Victor Selsman   Composer
Donahue   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Bickley S. Reichmer   Composer
Scott Johnson   Graphic Design
Joe Burke   Composer
Alex Gibson   Arranger
Cleve Reed   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews