The Complete Collection: 1956-1962

The Complete Collection: 1956-1962

by Cecil TaylorCecil Taylor


$19.94 $20.99 Save 5% Current price is $19.94, Original price is $20.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 24


This shockingly inexpensive budget compilation of Cecil Taylor's music from Enlightenment Records contains virtually all of the music he cut on his own records for United Artists, American, and Candid between 1956 and 1962. It even includes three tunes cut with his own sextet -- Jimmy Lyons, Archie Shepp, Ted Curson, Roswell Rudd, Henry Grimes, and Sunny Murray -- from Gil Evans' Into the Hot on Impulse. (Evans may have been given top billing, but his participation was minimal at best.) The four CDs comprise almost eight full albums' worth of material and showcase all of the various ensembles Taylor worked with during the period, as well as collaborative dates such as The Jazz Laboratory set shared with the Donald Byrd-Gigi Gryce group. Though all of these recordings are available separately, some are much easier to come by than others. Among these sets are Taylor's sessions with Buell Neidlinger on New York City R&B and Jumpin' Punkins, and the uneven but interesting Stereo Drive (aka Hard Driving Jazz aka Coltrane Time), with the pianist trying to fit in with the saxophonist, Kenny Dorham, Louis Hayes, and Chuck Israels. The sound is exceptionally good, which is uncommon for such a budget comp, but it should be noted that since this title is being released in the U.K., whose copyright laws are substantially different than Taylor's home country, the U.S., and he sees no royalties. The high grade is for the music not the box, which is simply packaged as a four-disc set in a slipcase.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/08/2014
Label: Enlightenment
UPC: 0823564640129
catalogNumber: 59018
Rank: 73311


Disc 1

  1. Bemsha Swing
  2. Charge 'Em Blues
  3. Azure
  4. Song
  5. You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To
  6. Rick Kick Shaw
  7. Johnny Come Lately
  8. Nona's Blues
  9. Tune 2

Disc 2

  1. Luyah! the Glorious Step
  2. African Violets
  3. Of What
  4. Wallering
  5. Toll
  6. Excursion On a Wobbly Rail
  7. Shifting Down
  8. Just Friends
  9. Like Someone In Love
  10. Double Clutching

Disc 3

  1. Get Out of Town
  2. I Love Paris
  3. Love For Sale
  4. Little Lees
  5. Matie's Trophies
  6. O.P.
  7. Cell Walk For Celeste
  8. Cindy's Main Mood
  9. Things Ain't What They Used To Be

Disc 4

  1. Air
  2. This Nearly Was Mine
  3. Port of Call
  4. E.B.
  5. Lazy Afternoon
  6. Pots
  7. Bulbs
  8. Mixed

Disc 5

  1. Trance
  2. Call
  3. Lena
  4. D Trad, That's What

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Cecil Taylor   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Solomon Burke   Composer
Kenny Dorham   Composer
Cecil Taylor   Composer
Chuck Israels   Composer
Irving Mills   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Denzil Best   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Oscar Hammerstein   Composer
John Latouche   Composer
Thelonious Monk   Composer
Jerome Moross   Composer
Buell Neidlinger   Composer
Cole Porter   Composer
Billy Strayhorn   Composer
James Van Heusen   Composer
Ted Persons   Composer
John Klenner   Composer

Customer Reviews