The Complete Aristocrat & Chess Singles A's & B's: 1947-1962

The Complete Aristocrat & Chess Singles A's & B's: 1947-1962

by Muddy WatersMuddy Waters


$24.92 $25.99 Save 4% Current price is $24.92, Original price is $25.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, April 26


Muddy Waters brought a Son House-like Delta country-blues style north with him from Mississippi to Chicago in 1943, intent on making a living from music. Switching from acoustic to electric guitar in order to be better heard in the Chicago clubs and bars, Waters gradually assembled one of the greatest ongoing bands in the history of blues, and in the process, Waters and his band assembled the very template for classic Chicago blues. Waters first cut a track for the Chess Brothers in 1947, who released it on their Aristocrat Records imprint, and for the next two decades or so, Waters turned out the basic iconic catalog of electric Chicago blues for various Chess imprints, and those singles, both A- and B-sides, are collected here in this four-disc, 98-track set. Waters was an astute bandleader, and musicians like Little Walter, Junior Wells, James Cotton, Willie Dixon, and Otis Spann all contributed heavily to these sides, which sit at the very heart of Chicago blues, and signal the very point where the blues became modern and urban.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/06/2014
Label: Acrobat
UPC: 0824046707224
catalogNumber: 7072
Rank: 53906


Disc 1

  1. Gypsy Woman
  2. Little Anna Mae
  3. I Can't Be Satisfied (Looking For My Baby)
  4. I Feel Like Going Home
  5. Train Fare Home (Train Fare Home Blues)
  6. Sittin' Here and Drinkin' (Whiskey Blues)
  7. You're Gonna' Miss Me (When I'm Dead and Gone)
  8. Mean Red Spider
  9. Streamline Woman
  10. Muddy Jumps One
  11. Little Geneva
  12. Canary Bird
  13. Screaming and Crying
  14. Where's My Woman Been
  15. Rollin' and Tumblin', Pt. 1
  16. Rollin' and Tumblin', Pt. 2
  17. Rollin' Stone
  18. Walkin' Blues
  19. You're Gonna Need My Help I Said (Gonna Need My Help)
  20. Sad Letter Blues
  21. Louisiana Blues
  22. Evan's Shuffle
  23. Long Distance Call
  24. Too Young To Know
  25. Appealing Blues (Hello Little Girl)

Disc 2

  1. Honey Bee
  2. My Fault
  3. Still a Fool
  4. Early Morning Blues (Before Daybreak)
  5. She Moves Me
  6. All Night Long
  7. Country Boy (All Night Long)
  8. Please Have Mercy
  9. Looking For My Baby
  10. Standing Around Crying
  11. Gone To Main Street
  12. She's All Right
  13. Sad Sad Day
  14. Who's Gonna Be Your Sweet Man
  15. Turn the Lamp Down Low (Baby Please Don't Go)
  16. Mad Love (I Want You To Love Me)
  17. Blow Wind Blow
  18. I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man
  19. She's So Pretty
  20. Just Make Love to Me (I Just Want to Make Love to You)
  21. Oh Yeh! (Oh Yeah)
  22. I'm Ready
  23. I Don't Know Why
  24. Lovin' Man

Disc 3

  1. I'm a Natural Born Lover
  2. I Want To Be Loved
  3. My Eyes (Keep Me In Trouble)
  4. Manish Boy
  5. Young Fashioned Ways (Old-Fashioned Ways)
  6. Trouble No More
  7. Sugar Sweet (I Can't Call Her Sugar)
  8. Forty Days and Forty Nights
  9. All Aboard
  10. Don't Go No Farther
  11. Diamonds At Your Feet
  12. I Got To Find My Baby
  13. Just To Be With You
  14. Got My Mojo Working
  15. Rock Me
  16. Good News
  17. Come Home Baby, I Wish You Would
  18. I Live the Life I Love (I Love the Life I Live)
  19. Evil
  20. I Won't Go On
  21. She's Got It
  22. Close To You
  23. She's Nineteen Years Old
  24. Mean Mistreater

Disc 4

  1. Walkin' Thru the Park (Walking In the Park)
  2. Clouds In My Heart
  3. Ooh Wee
  4. Take the Bitter With the Sweet
  5. She's Into Somethin'
  6. Recipe For Love
  7. Tell Me Baby
  8. I Feel So Good
  9. When I Get To Thinking
  10. I'm Your Doctor
  11. Read Way Back
  12. Love Affair
  13. Look What You've Done
  14. Tiger In Your Tank
  15. Meanest Woman
  16. Got My Mojo Working, Pt. 1
  17. Woman Wanted
  18. Messin' With the Man
  19. Lonesome Room Blues
  20. Going Home
  21. Tough Times
  22. Muddy Waters Twist
  23. You Shook Me
  24. You Need Love
  25. Little Brown Bird

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Muddy Waters   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals,Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
James Cotton   Harmonica
Willie Dixon   Bass,Vocals
Earl Hooker   Guitar
Big Walter Horton   Harmonica
Casey Jones   Percussion,Drums,Bird Calls
Little Walter   Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals,Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Matt "Guitar" Murphy   Guitar
A.C. Reed   Tenor Saxophone
Hubert Sumlin   Guitar
Junior Wells   Harmonica
Langston Hughes   Master of Ceremonies
Johnny Jones   Piano
Boyd Atkins   Tenor Saxophone
Fred Below   Drums
Jackie Brenston   Baritone Saxophone
Leonard Chess   Bass Drums
Francis Clay   Drums
Ernest "Big" Crawford   Bass,Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Duncan   Drums
Elgin Evans   Drums
Leroy Foster   Guitar,Bass Drums,Hi Hat
Pat Hare   Acoustic Guitar
George Hunter   Drums
Earnest Johnson   Bass
Lafayette Leake   Piano
Odie Payne   Drums
Milton Rector   Bass
Jimmy Rogers   Guitar
Sunnyland Slim   Piano
Otis Spann   Piano,Vocals
Andrew Stephenson   Bass
Luther Tucker   Guitar
Johnny "Big Moose" Walker   Organ
Marcus Johnson   Tenor Saxophone
Bobby Little   Drums
Willie Smith   Drums

Technical Credits

Big Bill Broonzy   Composer
Leroy Carr   Composer
Peter J. Clayton   Composer
Willie Dixon   Composer
Curtis Jones   Composer
J.B. Lenoir   Composer
Big Joe Williams   Composer
Robert Lockwood   Composer
Lucky Cordell   Composer
Robert Johnson   Composer
Ellas McDaniel   Composer
McKinley Morganfield   Composer
Muddy Waters   Composer
Phil Wright   Information
James Alston   Composer
Bernard Roth   Composer
Harriett Melka   Composer
Fred Rothwell   Information
Preston Foster   Composer
James Oden   Composer
Melvin London   Composer
Otis Smothers   Composer
Carl Wright   Composer
Henry Morganfield   Composer
Hap Walker   Composer

Customer Reviews