The Comfort Delusion

The Comfort Delusion

by Tom Shaw, Liz Jennings


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, June 18


We human beings are a complex bunch. We often get only glimpses of heaven before smashing back into the muddle of our mixed emotions. And yet we find, again and again, that the things we seek comfort in disappoint. How can we escape from this trap into the freedom Jesus wants for us?

Tom Shaw's sermons on the second half of Mark’s gospel draw readers in to a closer look at the way Jesus led his followers through the battle for body and soul. In this down to earth exploration of human nature and our longing for a deeper walk with God, Tom invites us to really understand the circumstances, motivations and behaviour of the disciples and all who came into contact with Jesus in these biblical accounts.

Why did Peter make that strange statement after he’d been with Jesus on the mountain top and seen the transfiguration with his own eyes? What was really going on in the Pharisees’ hearts when they set their traps for the Son of God? What did Jesus think was so special about Mary pouring oil over his feet? And what is Jesus saying through all these stories to you, today?

In The Comfort Delusion, Liz Jennings has moulded Tom’s talks into themed studies, suitable for personal reading or group study. At the end of each section, there are opportunities to journal and think things through more deeply, either privately or as part of a small group discussion. With inspiring challenges to encourage your spiritual growth and further reading to explore, The Comfort Delusion shines a light on Jesus’ character of challenge, loving care and overwhelming grace.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781999746438
Publisher: Lioness Writing Ltd
Publication date: 10/01/2019
Pages: 192
Product dimensions: 5.98(w) x 9.02(h) x 0.44(d)

About the Author

Tom Shaw was born and raised in the UK and has been an active part of the church community since 1997. He became an elder in 2003, married Josie in 2004 and they now have three daughters, Daisy, Lily and Poppy. For ten years, Tom was the lead elder at The City Church in Canterbury, UK and was instrumental in birthing many churches worldwide. Eventually Tom was called to California where he served on staff as Director of Leadership Development at Radiant Church for two years. Tom is planting Sanctuary Church in San Francisco where he enjoys his three loves: curry, coffee and conversation.

Liz Jennings grew up in a South London vicarage in the 1970s, the youngest of three children. At sixteen, she moved with her parents to the Midlands, returning to London two years later to study for an English and Theology degree. She has written features and fiction for a variety of Christian and secular publications, from Tearfund to Take A Break. She met her husband, Mark, while temping in Clapham. They have two children, Maisie and Reuben, and live in Kent, UK.

Table of Contents


Chapter One: From Mountain Top to Monday Morning

Chapter Two: Being a Seeker Isn’t Enough

Chapter Three: It’s Not About You

Chapter Four: Every Person Matters

Chapter Five: You Are Not In Control

Chapter Six: Reality Check - Things Are Going To Get Hairy

Chapter Seven: So Near, Yet So Far

Chapter Eight: One Almighty Wake Up Call

Chapter Nine: Between a Rock and a Hard Place

Chapter Ten: Missing the Messiah


Notes and References

About the Authors

Another Book written by Liz Jennings

Customer Reviews