The Collected Works of Thomas Paine

The Collected Works of Thomas Paine

by Thomas Paine

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


THE COLLECTED WORKS OF THOMAS PAINE includes five seminal works by 18th century British revolutionary and intellectual Thomas Paine. These include his influential COMMON SENSE, which contributed to American revolutionary thought and action. This collection also includes his pro-revolutionary thoughts in THE AMERICAN CRISIS and his defense of the French Revolution, THE RIGHTS OF MAN. Paine became more controversial with his publication of THE AGE OF REASON, which advocated deism and freethought while arguing against Christian doctrines and organized religion. Includes an active table of contents for easy navigation.

• Common Sense
• The American Crisis
• The Rights of Man
• The Age of Reason
• A Letter to Abbe Reynal

Product Details

BN ID: 2940013490253
Publisher: Halcyon Press Ltd.
Publication date: 11/18/2011
Series: Halcyon Classics , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Thomas Paine (1736/7-1809) was an influential British-American thinker, revolutionary, author, and intellectual. Born in England, Paine emigrated to the American colonies in 1774, where he became an ardent supporter of American Independence. Considered one of the Founding Fathers of the United States, Paine's COMMON SENSE proved to be an instant bestseller during the revolution through its explanation of the absurdities of British rule. In the 1790s, Paine moved to France, where he became a supporter of the French Revolution and a member of the National Convention. After narrowly escaping execution during the Reign of Terror, Paine continued to support the revolution and remained in France until the rise of Napoleon.

Customer Reviews