The Club Hangover Broadcasts with Jackie Coon

The Club Hangover Broadcasts with Jackie Coon

by Jack TeagardenJack Teagarden


$10.95 $10.99 Save 0% Current price is $10.95, Original price is $10.99. You Save 0%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This double-CD from Arbors contains four half-hour broadcasts by the Jack Teagarden sextet during its stay at the Club Hangover in San Francisco. At the time the trombonist's band featured trumpeter Jackie Coon, the obscure but talented clarinetist Jay St. John, Jack's sister Norma Teagarden on piano, bassist Kas Malone and drummer Ray Bauduc. Because of some odd regulations, Jack Teagarden was not allowed to sing at these engagements (because otherwise the music would be classified as "entertainment" and the club-owner would be subject to an additional tax) so the performances are strictly instrumentals. In addition to the band numbers, on each broadcast the intermission pianist had a chance to play one number; Lil Armstrong and Don Ewell are both heard from twice. Although the talking by the announcer is a bit annoying at times (he knew nothing about jazz), the Dixieland music is generally quite spirited if predictable and the three horns all get in their fair share of heated solos on the familiar warhorses.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/09/1998
Label: Arbors Records
UPC: 0780941115024
catalogNumber: 19150
Rank: 92083


Disc 1

  1. Opening Theme and Announcement
  2. Struttin' With Some Barbecue
  3. Basin Street Blues
  4. Muskrat Ramble
  5. Intermission Piano- The Pearls
  6. When the Saints Go Marching In
  7. Closing Theme and Announcement
  8. Opening Theme and Announcement
  9. South Rampart Street Parade
  10. St. Louis Blues
  11. Lover
  12. Intermission Piano-Joogie Woogie
  13. St. James Infirmary
  14. That's a-Plenty
  15. Closing Theme and Announcement

Disc 2

  1. Opening Theme and Announcement
  2. Jazz Me Blues
  3. Tin Roof Blues
  4. I'm Gonna Stomp, Mr. Henry Lee
  5. Intermission Piano-a Handful of Keys
  6. Royal Garden Blues
  7. Closing Theme and Announcement
  8. Opening Theme and Announcement
  9. Muskrat Ramble
  10. My Trust in You
  11. Baby, Won't You Please Come Home
  12. Intermission Piano-Froggy Moore Rag
  13. March of the Bobcats
  14. Honeysuckle Rose
  15. Closing Theme and Announcements

Album Credits

Customer Reviews