The Classic

The Classic

by Carl PerkinsCarl Perkins

CD(Box Set)

$124.70 $124.99 Save 0% Current price is $124.7, Original price is $124.99. You Save 0%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This is a Bear Family release that even casual listeners can sort of agree with. The five CDs contain close to 150 tracks, most notably Perkins' complete Sun Records output in close, glittering sound, plus all of his Columbia sides from 1958 through 1962, and his oft-overlooked early-'60s recordings for both American and English Decca. The Sun material is the best part of this box, and while it has been available as a triple CD from Charly, the latter is now out of print and had nothing like the crisp, clean sound you get here. The Sun outtakes may make the casual listener hesitate, but it's in the multiple takes that rock & roll as you know it was born, and all of the stuff is different enough between the takes to make hearing it worthwhile even for the non-scholar, to show that classics like that don't just "happen." Moreover, these differences aren't the little arrangement polishes and little tempo changes that one finds in most outtakes, but represent the evolution of a style -- musically, they're at least as interesting as any of Elvis' Sun session outtakes. Beyond the rock & roll history, however, the reality is also that anyone buying it should have as much love of good honky tonk-style country music as they do for rock & roll. The Columbia sides are available separately, but they just aren't as interesting. The Decca stuff, which is unique to this set, represents Perkins' serious attempts at a comeback in the face of his huge concert success in England in the wake of the Beatles' recording of his music. The booklet is good, though not quite as comprehensive as one would have liked.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/27/1994
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127154941
catalogNumber: 15494
Rank: 95174


Disc 1

  1. Honky Tonk Babe
  2. Honk Tonk Gal
  3. Movie Magg
  4. Movie Magg
  5. Turn Around
  6. Dialogue
  7. Turn Around
  8. Let The Jukebox Keep On Playing
  9. What You Doin' When You're Crying
  10. Let The Jukebox Keep On Playing
  11. You Can't Make Love To Somebody
  12. Gone, Gone, Gone
  13. Gone, Gone, Gone
  14. Dixie Bop/Perkins Wiggle
  15. Blue Suede Shoes
  16. Blue Suede Shoes
  17. Blue Suede Shoes
  18. Honey Don't
  19. Honey Don't
  20. Honey Don't
  21. Tennessee
  22. Sure To Fall
  23. All Mama's Children
  24. Everybody's Trying To Be My Baby
  25. Boppin' The Blues
  26. Put Your Cat Clothes On
  27. Boppin' The Blues
  28. Only You
  29. You Can't Make Love To Somebody
  30. Right String Baby, Wrong Yo-Yo

Disc 2

  1. False Start/All Mama's Children
  2. All Mama's Children
  3. Dixie Fried
  4. Everybody's Trying to Be My Baby
  5. Put Your Cat Clothes On
  6. Everybody's Trying to Be My Baby
  7. Dixie Fried
  8. Dixie Fried
  9. I'm Sorry I'm Not Sorry
  10. That Don't Move Me
  11. Lonely Street
  12. Drink Up And Go Home
  13. Pink Pedal Pushers
  14. The Way You're Living Is Breaking My Heart
  15. Take Back My Love
  16. Somebody Tell Me
  17. Instrumental, No. 1
  18. Instrumental, No. 2
  19. Red Wing
  20. Down By The Riverside
  21. Her Love Rubbed Off
  22. Caldonia
  23. You Can Do No Wrong
  24. I'm Sorry I'm Not Sorry
  25. That Don't Move Me
  26. Lonely Street
  27. Your True Love
  28. Matchbox
  29. Your True Love
  30. Put Your Cat Clothes On

Disc 3

  1. Matchbox
  2. Put Your Cat Clothes oN
  3. Keeper Of The Key
  4. Roll Over Beethoven
  5. Try My Heart Out
  6. That's Right
  7. Forever Yours
  8. That's Right
  9. Y.O.U.
  10. I Care
  11. Y.O.U.
  12. Pink Pedal Pushers
  13. Pink Pedal Pushers
  14. Lend Me Your Comb
  15. Look at That Moon
  16. Lend Me Your Comb
  17. Look At That Moon
  18. Glad All Over
  19. Tutti Frutti
  20. Whole Lotta Shakin' Going On
  21. That's All Right
  22. Where The Rio De Rosa Flows
  23. Shake, Rattle & Roll
  24. Long Tall Sally
  25. I Got A Woman
  26. Hey, Good Lookin'
  27. Sitting on Top of the World
  28. Good Rockin' Tonight

Disc 4

  1. Jive After Five
  2. Rockin' Record Hop
  3. Pink Pedal Pushers
  4. Just Thought I'd Call
  5. Ready Teddy
  6. Jenny, Jenny
  7. You Were There
  8. Because You're Mine
  9. Pop, Let Me Have The Car
  10. Levi Jacket (And A Long Tail Shirt)
  11. When The Moon Comes Over The Mountain
  12. Sister Twister
  13. Hambone
  14. This Life I Live
  15. Please Say You'll Be Mine
  16. Honey 'Cause I Love You
  17. Y.O.U.
  18. I Don't See Me In Your Eyes Anymore
  19. Highway Of Love
  20. Pointed Toe Shoes
  21. One Ticket To Loneliness
  22. The Drifter
  23. Too Much For A Man To Understand
  24. L-O-V-E-V-I-L-L-E

Disc 5

  1. Blue Suede Shoes
  2. Big Bad Blues
  3. Say When
  4. Lonely Heart
  5. A Love I'll Never Win
  6. Let My Baby Be
  7. Monkey Shine
  8. Mama Of My Song
  9. One Of These Days
  10. I Wouldn't Have You
  11. Help Me Find My Baby
  12. After Sundown
  13. For A Little While
  14. Just For You
  15. When The Right Time Comes Along
  16. The Fool I Used To Be
  17. Forget Me (Next Time Around)
  18. Hollywood City
  19. I've Just Got Back From There
  20. To Much For A Man To Understand
  21. Turn Around
  22. The Unhappy Girls
  23. Someday, Somewhere Someone Waits For Me
  24. Any Way the Wind Blows

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Carl Perkins   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Floyd Cramer   Piano
Jerry Lee Lewis   Piano
Nashville Teens   Group
James Burton   Guitar
Pete Drake   Steel Guitar
Alan Price   Organ
Grady Martin   Guitar,Leader
Harold Bradley   Guitar
Eddie Bush   Guitar
Kenny Buttrey   Drums
Billy Byrd   Guitar
Bill Cantrell   Track Performer
Quinton Claunch   Electric Guitar
Ray Edenton   Guitar
Barry Jenkins   Drums
Stan Kesler   Steel Guitar
Wayne Moss   Guitar,Leader
Luther Perkins   Guitar
Ray Phillips   Bass
Pete Shannon   Bass
Don Sheffield   Trumpet
Joe Zinkan   Bass
W.S. Holland   Drums
Andrew L. Goodrich   Saxophone
Marvin Hughes   Piano
Bob Moore   Bass
John Allen   Guitar
Carl Garvin   Trumpet
William Paul Ackerman   Drums
Bernie   Steel Guitar

Technical Credits

Johnny Cash   Composer
Mel Tillis   Composer
Chuck Berry   Composer
Jordanaires   Vocal Group
Carl Perkins   Composer
Freddie Hart   Composer
Buck Ram   Composer
Walter Vinson   Composer
Otis Blackwell   Composer
Carl Belew   Composer
Bennie Benjamin   Composer
Owen Bradley   Producer
R. Brown   Composer
Lonnie Chatmon   Composer
Quinton Claunch   Composer
Arthur "Big Boy" Crudup   Composer
Colin Escott   Liner Notes,Reissue Producer,Illustrations
Harlan Howard   Composer
Don Law   Producer
J.D. Miller   Composer
Fred Rose   Composer
Wayne Walker   Composer
Ben Weisman   Composer
George David Weiss   Composer
Marijohn Wilkin   Composer
Hank Williams   Composer
Fred Wise   Composer
Jimmie Logsdon   Composer
Eddie Fontaine   Composer
D. Williams   Composer
Mitchell Torok   Composer
Jimmy Swan   Composer
Bill Millar   Liner Notes
Richard Weize   Reissue Producer,Illustrations
W.S. Stevenson   Composer
Robert "Bumps" Blackwell   Composer
Enotris Johnson   Composer
Fleecie Moore   Composer
Vic McAlpin   Composer
Kenny Sowder   Composer
Beverly Stewart   Composer
Wanda Ballman   Composer
Fred Burch   Composer
Eddie Crandall   Composer
Kay Twomey   Composer
Lou Wayne   Composer
Ramona Redd   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Unknown   Composer
Howard Griffin   Composer
Cantrell   Composer
C. Reed   Composer
Andy Halmay   Composer
Griffin   Composer
E. Fontaine   Composer
Edmondson   Composer
Claunch   Composer
D. Abram   Composer
Lance Guynes   Composer
Willie Perryman   Composer

Customer Reviews