The Clarke/Duke Project, Vols. 1-3

The Clarke/Duke Project, Vols. 1-3

by Stanley ClarkeStanley Clarke


$17.77 $17.99 Save 1% Current price is $17.77, Original price is $17.99. You Save 1%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


In 2010, Great Britain's BGO imprint began re-releasing Stanley Clarke's CBS recordings, which include the three records he made with George Duke as the Clarke/Duke Project between 1981 and 1990. To listen to this double disc is to hear an aural portrait of the fusion scene as it really met and and melded with adult contemporary and '80s R&B. The first album issued in 1981 included drummer John Robinson (Rufus) and some guests, and both men on vocals. The first set netted them a crossover hit single in "Sweet Baby," an unlikely midtempo groove ballad. (It hit number 19 on the pop chart and number six at R&B.) The sheer imagination on the first Clarke/Duke Project record is startling in its reach, from the accessible melodic fusion of its opener "Wild Dog" and its funk cover of "Louie Louie" (that, criminally, never made it onto any of the various-artists collections that showcased the legendary Richard Berry tune), to the P-Funk-drenched "Let's Get Started" to the '80s soul ballad "Touch and Go." The second C/DP set was issued in 1983, and from its opener, "Put It on the Line," it showcased the degree that drum machines began to dominate rock, soul, and pop. The trio was also joined by renowned session players and guest vocalists Jeffrey Osborne and Howard Hewett (Shalamar), and Lynn Davis. It reflected more than anything the kinds of productions Duke was doing for other artists at the time. It also reveals the attempts at pop songwriting both men were doing at the time -- clearly they enjoyed being on the charts. That said, it's musically consistent despite its production excesses. The third C/DP album released in 1990 was as slick as its predecessor. Dennis Chambers replaced Robinson on the drum kit, and Osborne and Hewett returned from the previous outing. Rappers Above the Law appear on "No Place to Hide," which also features a stellar sung lead vocal from a teenage Rahsaan Patterson. Wayne Shorter and Joe Henderson make guest appearances on "Find Out Who You Are." On the album's best-remembered track, a cover of George Clinton's "Mothership Connection," Kirk Whalum and George Bohannon appear. There isn't any bonus material included, but the remastering is excellent and there is an historical liner essay by John O'Regan.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/11/2010
Label: Bgo - Beat Goes On
UPC: 5017261209313
catalogNumber: 6120931
Rank: 24198

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Stanley Clarke   Primary Artist,Bass,Guitar,Electric Bass,Cello,Keyboards,Sitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Rap,Piccolo Bass,Clevenger Bass,Tenor Bass
Above the Law   Rap
Philip Bailey   Vocals,Rap
Howard Hewett   Vocals
George Duke   Piano,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals,Synclavier,Rap,D550
Gary Foster   Tenor Recorder,Alto Recorder
Joe Henderson   Tenor Saxophone
Wayne Shorter   Soprano Saxophone
Gerald Alston   Vocals
Phil Perry   Vocals,Background Vocals,Rap
Marilyn Baker   Viola
Dennis Chambers   Drums,Hi Hat
Murray Adler   Strings,Violin
Israel Baker   Violin
Brenton Banks   Strings,Violin
Harry Bluestone   Strings
Robert Brookins   Keyboards
Carl Carwell   Vocals,Background Vocals,Rap
Leon "Ndugu" Chancler   Vocals,Rap
Charles Veal   Concert Master
Billy Cobham   Drums
Paulinho Da Costa   Oboe
Darrell Cox   Vocals,Rap
Rollice Dale   Strings
Douglas Davis   Cello
Lynn Davis   Vocals,Background Vocals
Bonnie Douglas   Strings
Brandon Fields   Alto Saxophone
Ronald Folsom   Strings
Roy Galloway   Background Vocals
Jim Gilstrap   Background Vocals
Endre Granat   Violin
Rayford Griffin   Drums
Portia Griffin   Background Vocals
Allan Harshman   Strings
Jerry Hey   Trumpet,Piccolo Trumpet
Clydene Jackson   Background Vocals
Jan Kelley   Strings
Katie Kirkpatrick   Strings
Michael Landau   Guitar
Earl Madison   Cello
Narada Michael Walden   Drums
Carole Mukogawa   Viola
Buell Neidlinger   Bass
Dan Neufeld   Viola
Gareth "Garry" Nuttycombe   Strings
Jeffrey Osborne   Vocals
Claudia Parducci   Violin
Dorothy Remsen   Harp
John "J.R." Robinson   Drums
Anatoly Rosinsky   Violin
Paul Shure   Strings
Debra Starr   Background Vocals
Robert Sushel   Strings
Deborah Thomas   Background Vocals
Kirk Whalum   Tenor Saxophone
Mihail Zinovyev   Viola
Dixie Blackstone   Strings
Michael Ferril   Violin
Ray Kelly   Strings
Rahsaan Patterson   Vocals
Bill Hybel   Violin
Dave Schwartz   Strings
Reg Hill   Strings,Violin
Julia Tillman   Background Vocals
Alex Horvatha   Violin
Mitchell Newman   Violin
Neal Laite   Violin
Pat Johnson   Strings
George Bohanon   Trombone
Barbara Hunter   Strings
Ron Cooper   Strings,Cello
Franklyn D'Antonio   Violin
Jorge Del Barrio   Conductor
George Del Barrio   Conductor
Ed Green   Strings
Cruz Sembello   Background Vocals
Nat Ross   Strings
Maxine Willard   Background Vocals
Steve Erody   Cello
Sam Bodhossiam   Viola
Mimi Meyer   Viola
Armen Garabdein   Violin
Sylvia St. James   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

George Duke   Composer,Producer,Orchestration,String Arrangements
Richard Berry   Composer
Kevin Fisher   Engineer
Israel Baker   String Section
Denyse Buffum   String Section
Charles Veal   String Section
Stanley Clarke   Composer,Producer,Orchestration,String Arrangements
Rollice Dale   String Section
Assa Drori   String Section
Bonnie Douglas   String Section
Mitch Gibson   Engineer
Endre Granat   String Section
Paula Hochhalter   String Section
Steve Holroyd   Engineer
Selene Hurford   String Section
Nils Oliver   String Section
Tom Perry   Engineer
Art Royvale   String Section
Sheldon Sanov   String Section
Steve Sykes   Engineer
Barbara Thomason   String Section
Marcia Van Dyke   String Section
Tommy Vicari   Engineer
Dorothy Wade   String Section
Allee Willis   Composer
Erik Zobler   Engineer
Laylaw   Composer
Cold 187um   Composer
Nancy Donald   Art Direction
Nick Spigel   Engineer
Dan Humann   Engineer
Mary Maurer   Art Direction
David Rideaux   Engineer
John O'Regan   Liner Notes
Kenneth Yerke   String Section
Jorge Del Barrio   String Section
Fred Seykora   String Section
George Del Barrio   String Arrangements
Brookins   Composer
Mike Herbick   Engineer

Customer Reviews