The Christmas Album

The Christmas Album

by Johnny Mathis


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, January 31
5 New & Used Starting at $4.59


In case you've lost track (or were never keeping track), this is Johnny Mathis' sixth newly recorded Christmas album following Merry Christmas (1958), The Sound of Christmas (1963), Give Me Your Love for Christmas (1969), For Christmas (1984), and Christmas Eve With Johnny Mathis (1986). If it seems like there have been even more, that's because of repackagings: Such titles as Christmas with Johnny Mathis, Christmas Is..., and The Christmas Music of Johnny Mathis: A Personal Collection are compilations drawn from the previous original five. So, maybe this 2002 collection should be called "A Christmas Album" instead of The Christmas Album. Definitive yet generic, that title isn't likely to distinguish the disc for buyers browsing the holiday sections of their local record stores. You might think that Mathis would have trouble finding Christmas evergreens to record the sixth time through, but somehow he doesn't seem to have gotten around to "Joy to the World," "Away in a Manger," "Frosty the Snowman," "Have a Holly Jolly Christmas," "O Little Town of Bethlehem," or "Merry Christmas" before. He has commissioned one new one, Tom Snow and Dean Pitchford's pleasant "Heavenly Peace," and pressed into service other non-holiday standards, such as Irving Berlin's "I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm" and '40s bandleader Claude Thornhill's theme song "Snowfall." And since the album only contains ten tracks and runs a mere half an hour, that's enough. Backed by the Irish Film Orchestra, which can be alternately lush and swinging, Mathis creates yet another winning collection. It isn't a match for his classic first one, Merry Christmas, but it's still very good.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/22/2002
Label: Sony
UPC: 0696998681422
catalogNumber: 86814

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Johnny Mathis   Primary Artist
Robbie Buchanan   Bass,Drums,Keyboards
Dave Carpenter   Bass
Vinnie Colaiuta   Drums
Michael Landau   Electric Guitar
Dean Parks   Acoustic Guitar
Randy Waldman   Piano
Irish Film Orchestra   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Hoyt Axton   Composer
Irving Berlin   Composer
Alan Broadbent   Arranger
Bob Krogstad   Arranger
Andrew Boland   Engineer
John Bolt   Engineer
Robbie Buchanan   Arranger,Producer
Ray Ellis   Arranger
Dan Garcia   Engineer
Jay Landers   Producer,Executive Producer
Johnny Marks   Composer
Jonathan Tunick   Arranger
Isaac Watts   Composer
Lowell Mason   Composer
Christine Wilson   Art Direction
Jack Rollins   Composer
Phillips Brooks   Composer
Traditional   Composer
James R. Murray   Composer
Russell Laschinger   Cover Photo
Scott Erickson   Producer,Engineer
Lewis Redner   Composer
William J. Kirkpatrick   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews