The Child On Platform One: Inspired by the children who escaped the Holocaust

The Child On Platform One: Inspired by the children who escaped the Holocaust

by Gill Thompson

NOOK Book(eBook)

$1.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

TO SAVE HER CHILD, A MOTHER MUST MAKE AN IMPOSSIBLE CHOICE.

'Heartrending. Riveting. Definitely on my list of Ten Best Books of 2019' Sharon Maas, author of The Violin Maker's Daughter

'The characters and their moving stories will haunt you long after you finish the last page' Shirley Dickson, author of The Orphan Sisters

Inspired by the children who escaped the Holocaust. Perfect for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris and My Name is Eva by Suzanne Goldring.

Prague 1939. Young mother Eva has a secret from her past. When the Nazis invade, Eva knows the only way to keep her daughter Miriam safe is to send her away - even if it means never seeing her again.

But when Eva is taken to a concentration camp, her secret is at risk of being exposed.

In London, Pamela volunteers to help find places for the Jewish children arrived from Europe. Befriending one unclaimed little girl, Pamela brings her home.

Then when her son enlists in the RAF, Pamela realises how easily her own world could come crashing down...

Readers around the world adore THE CHILD ON PLATFORM ONE:

'OH MY HEART! Moved me deep from within. I cannot recommend it enough' The Writing Garnet

'Such a gorgeous book. I loved and believed in all the characters, and thoroughly enjoyed their stories. Incredibly researched, it felt authentic. And the ending moved me to tears *****'

'OMG What an incredible read. It was so emotional about a Jewish girl. I was engrossed from start to finish and would highly recommend this book *****'

'This book was incredible... The story is realistic and believable. Once you start reading you will not want to stop *****'

'An emotional, haunting book filled with secrets throughout. Excellent *****'

'I loved the book and the way it was written. I will be reading more novels by Gill Thompson in the future as her interweaving of events with fictional characters is remarkable *****'

'This was a great book! There are secrets you will not see coming, but it makes it more heartwarming *****'

'It's not your normal evacuee story as it's intertwined with other stories which I really enjoyed. It had me gripped. I will be looking out for more books by this author *****'

'This is a very good book. I recommend you read *****'

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781472257994
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing, Limited
Publication date: 12/01/2019
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 2,384
File size: 717 KB

About the Author

Gill Thompson is an English lecturer who completed an MA in Creative Writing at Chichester University. Her debut novel, THE OCEANS BETWEEN US, was a No. 1 digital bestseller and has been highly acclaimed. She lives with her family in West Sussex and teaches English to college students.

Customer Reviews