The Carter Family: 1927-1934

The Carter Family: 1927-1934

by The Carter FamilyThe Carter Family


$28.92 $28.99 Save 0% Current price is $28.92, Original price is $28.99. You Save 0%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Fans looking for more than ASV/Living Era's Wildwood Flower collection but scared off by Bear Family's massive 12-disc box could comfortably pick up this five-disc budget compilation. At 126 songs, it covers all of their RCA Victor recordings in chronological order, omitting only alternate takes. The remastering isn't necessarily better than other Carter Family issues -- rather than clean up the crackle, the engineers have simply boosted the sound level, and while that does bring out some nuances, the ever-present hiss is louder than usual. That and the scanty liner notes mean that casual fans could probably do perfectly well with Wildwood Flower, but this music is going to be an outstanding addition to any collection, especially at a price this low.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/30/2002
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065770129
catalogNumber: 7701
Rank: 17785


Disc 1

  1. Bury Me Under the Weeping Willow
  2. Little Log Cabin by the Sea
  3. The Poor Orphan Child
  4. The Storms Are on the Ocean
  5. Single Girl, Married Girl
  6. The Wandering Boy
  7. Meet Me by the Moonlight Alone
  8. Little Darlin' Pal of Mine
  9. Keep on the Sunny Side
  10. Anchored in Love
  11. John Hardy Was a Desperate Little Man
  12. I Ain't Goin' to Work Tomorrow
  13. Will You Miss Me When I'm Gone?
  14. River of Jordan
  15. Chewing Gum
  16. Wildwood Flower
  17. I Have No One to Love Me (But the Sailor on the Deep Blue Sea)
  18. Forsaken Love
  19. Sweet Fern
  20. My Clinch Mountain Home
  21. God Gave Noah the Rainbow Sign
  22. I'm Thinking Tonight of My Blue Eyes
  23. Little Moses
  24. Lulu Walls
  25. The Grave on the Green Hillside

Disc 2

  1. Don't Forget This Song
  2. The Foggy Mountain Top
  3. Bring Back My Blue Eyed Boy
  4. Diamonds in the Rough
  5. Engine 143
  6. The Homestead on the Farm
  7. The Cyclone of Rye Cove
  8. Motherless Children
  9. When the Roses Bloom in Dixieland
  10. No Telephone in Heaven
  11. Western Hobo
  12. Carter's Blues
  13. Wabash Cannonball
  14. A Distant Land to Roam
  15. Jimmie Brown the Newsboy
  16. Kitty Waltz
  17. Fond Affection
  18. The Cannonball
  19. The Lover's Farewell
  20. There's Someone Awaiting for Me
  21. The Little Log Hut in the Lane
  22. When the Springtime Comes Again
  23. When the World's on Fire
  24. I Have an Aged Mother
  25. Dying Soldier
  26. Worried Man Blues

Disc 3

  1. Lonesome Valley
  2. On the Rock Where Moses Stood
  3. Room in Heaven for Me
  4. Lonesome Pine Special
  5. No More the Moon Shines on Lorena
  6. On My Way to Canaan's Land
  7. Where Shall I Be?
  8. Sow 'Em on the Mountain
  9. Darling Nellie Across the Sea
  10. The Birds Were Singing of You
  11. Weary Prodigal Son
  12. My Old Cottage Home
  13. When I'm Gone
  14. Sunshine in the Mountain
  15. Let the Church Roll On
  16. Lonesome for You
  17. Can't Feel at Home
  18. Why There's a Tear in My Eye
  19. The Wonderful City
  20. Jimmie Rodgers Visits the Carter Family
  21. The Carter Family and Jimmie Rodgers in Texas
  22. 'Mid the Green Fields of Virginia
  23. Happiest Days of All
  24. Picture on the Wall
  25. Amber Tresses

Disc 4

  1. I Never Loved But One
  2. Tell Me That You Love Me
  3. Where We'll Never Grow Old
  4. We Will March Through the Streets of the City
  5. Sweet as the Flowers in May Time
  6. Will the Roses Bloom in Heaven/On a Hill Lone and Gray
  7. My Little Home in Tennessee
  8. The Sun of the Soul
  9. If One Won't Another One Will
  10. Broken Hearted Love
  11. Two Sweethearts
  12. The Winding Stream
  13. I Wouldn't Mind Dying
  14. The Spirit of Love Watches Over Me
  15. The Church in the Wildwood
  16. Give Me Roses While I Live
  17. I Never Will Marry
  18. On the Sea of Galilee
  19. Home by the Sea
  20. I Loved You Better Than You Knew
  21. This Is Like Heaven to Me
  22. See That My Grave Is Kept Green
  23. Over the Garden Wall
  24. Gold Watch and Chain
  25. Will My Mother Know Me There?

Disc 5

  1. On a Hill Lone and Gray
  2. Cowboy Jack
  3. I'll Be All Smiles Tonight
  4. Away Out on Saint Sabbath
  5. Happy or Lonesome
  6. One Little Word
  7. Darling Daisies
  8. The East Virginia Blues
  9. Lovers Return
  10. It'll Aggravate Your Soul
  11. Hello Central, Give Me Heaven
  12. I'm Working on a Building
  13. You've Been Fooling Me, Baby
  14. Longing for Old Virginia
  15. March Winds Gonna Blow My Blues All Away
  16. There'll Be Joy, Joy, Joy
  17. Are You Tired of Me, My Darling
  18. My Heart's Tonight in Texas
  19. There's No Hiding Place Down Here
  20. Cowboy's Wild Song to His Herd
  21. The Evening Bells Are Ringing
  22. The Mountains of Tennessee
  23. I'll Be Home Someday
  24. Faded Coat of Blue
  25. Sailor Boy

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Carter Family   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Carter Family   Composer
Jimmie Rodgers   Composer
Doc Watson   Composer
Woody Guthrie   Composer
Johnny Carroll   Composer
Rev. Louis Overstreet   Composer
Mother Maybelle Carter   Composer
Larry Cordle   Composer
A.P. Carter   Arranger,Composer
Sara Carter   Composer
Eric Clapton   Composer
William Lee Golden   Composer
Larry Shell   Composer
Bud Landress   Composer
Don Marcotte   Composer
Gus Williams   Composer
Gary Garett   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Gussie Davis   Composer
George D. Fox   Composer
Harry Hunter   Composer
C.E. Moody   Composer
J.E. French   Composer
R.H. Cornelius   Composer
Thomas Westendorf   Composer
Johnson Oatman   Composer
Ger Costello   Composer

Customer Reviews