The Capitol Years 65/77

The Capitol Years 65/77

by Glen CampbellGlen Campbell


$16.41 $16.99 Save 3% Current price is $16.41, Original price is $16.99. You Save 3%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 20


There is no definitive Glen Campbell compilation, but this 130-minute, two-disc set from England comes very close to it, and also forms a perfect compliment to Razor & Tie's Glen Campbell Collection: 1962-1989 (which it overlaps amazingly little). With 46 songs, selected from various singles, starting with Campbell's first pop
ock hit "Universal Soldier" and rarities such as the beautiful flops "Guess I'm Dumb" (co-authored and produced by Brian Wilson) and "Less of Me," along with various album tracks and B-sides, it's as good a cross-section of his sound (including two duets with Bobbie Gentry) and his successes as you can find. What's more, by ranging freely through the hits and the album cuts, it shows off Campbell's strengths in various idioms, from the country-ish "Just Another Man" and the more pop-focused "It's Over," to the brilliant "Reason to Believe" and non-LP sides, such as "You're Young and You'll Forget" sandwiched in between "Wichita Lineman" and Campbell's own "Everytime I Itch I Wind Up Scratching You." "True Grit," the title-song of the film in which he co-starred, is very much a piece with the best of his singles from that era, immersed in rich melodic textures, supported by moderately dense orchestration backing a superb vocal performance. Disc two is intriguing for its inclusion of the Jimmy Webb songs Campbell recorded during the early '70s (beginning with "Honey Come Back") that didn't become hits, and which haven't been heard often (if at all) on CD; they make a logical core for the second half of Campbell's Capitol history, and have generally been ignored along with most of that history (other than "Rhinestone Cowboy" and "Southern Nights"), and "As Far As I'm Concerned," "It's Only Make Believe," "Just Another Piece of Paper," "Last Time I Saw Her," and "Dream Sweet Dreams About Me" are among the best sides Campbell ever recorded, and are comparable to his finest work from the 1960s. The sound is crisp, state-of-the-art fidelity circa 1998, which makes it comparable (or superior) to most of the rival compilations out there from American Capitol. The annotation is also reasonably thorough, and the packaging is neat and unpretentious. This British release is worth tracking down, though its virtues are also both sad reflections of the lack of respect with which American Capitol has usually treated Campbell's catalog.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/14/1999
Label: Emi Europe Generic
UPC: 0724382183426
catalogNumber: 821834
Rank: 29881


Disc 1

  1. Universal Soldier
  2. Guess I'm Dumb
  3. Less of Me
  4. Mary in the Morning
  5. Gentle on My Mind
  6. By the Time I Get to Phoenix
  7. They'll Never Take Her Love Away from Me
  8. Hey Little One
  9. Just Another Man
  10. It's Over
  11. Without Her
  12. Dreams of the Everyday Housewife
  13. Wichita Lineman
  14. You're Young and You'll Forget
  15. Every Time I Itch I Wind Up Scratching You
  16. Reason to Believe
  17. Galveston
  18. Where's the Playground Susie?
  19. Gotta Have Tenderness
  20. Mornin' Glory
  21. True Grit
  22. If This Is Love
  23. Try a Little Kindness
  24. All I Have to Do Is Dream

Disc 2

  1. Honey Come Back
  2. Folk Singer
  3. Love Is Not a Game
  4. Everything a Man Could Ever Need
  5. As Far as I'm Concerned
  6. It's Only Make Believe
  7. Dream Sweet Dreams About Me
  8. Just Another Piece of Paper
  9. The Last Time I Saw Her
  10. Don't It Make You Want to Go Home
  11. London (I'm Coming to See You)
  12. You Might as Well Smile
  13. About the Ocean
  14. Adoration
  15. Rhinestone Cowboy
  16. Country Boy (You Got Your Feet in L.A.)
  17. Marie
  18. Comeback
  19. Christiaan No
  20. Southern Nights
  21. Sunflower
  22. This Is Sarah's Song

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Glen Campbell   Primary Artist
Bobbie Gentry   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Glen Campbell   Composer
Mac Davis   Composer
Gordon Lightfoot   Composer
Buffy Sainte-Marie   Composer
Barry De Vorzon   Composer
Jimmy Webb   Composer
Johnny Cymbal   Composer
Dorsey Burnette   Composer
Jimmie F. Rodgers   Composer
Joseph Allen   Composer
Felice Bryant   Composer
Boudleaux Bryant   Composer
Dennis Lambert   Composer
Brian Potter   Composer
Bobby Austin   Composer
Jerry Reed Hubbard   Composer
Mitchell Torok   Composer
Michael Lendell   Composer
Jeremy Slate   Composer
Ramona Redd   Composer
Bill Ezell   Composer
Curt Sapaugh   Composer

Customer Reviews