The Byrds Play Dylan [2001]

The Byrds Play Dylan [2001]

by The Byrds
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, September 19


He had the songs, they had the sound. Together they invented folk-rock, and the foundation of the genre can be found here in its glorious flowering and eventual fruition. The Byrds became both stars and rock icons with their 1965 recording of Bob Dylan's "Mr. Tambourine Man." Over the next six years, the band would record more of Dylan's classic songs, all of which are collected in this historically significant compilation. Amazingly, the Byrds got the new sound down from the start; early interpretations of "Chimes of Freedom," "Lay Down Your Weary Tune," "Spanish Harlem Incident," and "All I Really Want to Do" perfectly mate Beatles-pop with Dylan's literate message, all carried along by Roger McGuinn's trademark 12-string guitar lines and the group's soaring vocal harmonies. Later renditions possess similar power, from the brilliant transformation of "My Back Pages" and the proto-country-rock kick of "You Ain't Going Nowhere" and "Nothing Was Delivered" to the rockish drive of "Positively 4th Street" and "This Wheel's on Fire." The Byrds certainly carved their own identity apart from Dylan, but the combination of the two consistently produced sonic gold.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/01/2008
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
UPC: 0886972361222
catalogNumber: 723612
Rank: 6930


  1. All I Really Want to Do
  2. Chimes of Freedom
  3. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue
  4. Lay Down Your Weary Tune
  5. Lay Lady Lay
  6. Mr. Tambourine Man
  7. My Back Pages
  8. Nothing Was Delivered
  9. Postively 4th Street
  10. Spanish Harlem Incident
  11. The Times They Are A-Changin'
  12. This Wheel's on Fire
  13. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere
  14. It's Alright Ma (I'm Only Bleeding)
  15. Just Like a Woman
  16. Lay Lady Lay
  17. The Times They Are A-Changin'
  18. Mr. Tambourine Man
  19. Chimes of Freedom
  20. Paths of Victory

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews