The Bright Mississippi

The Bright Mississippi

by Allen ToussaintAllen Toussaint


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Bright Mississippi is Allen Toussaint’s first solo album in more than a decade. Produced by friend and frequent collaborator Joe Henry, the record includes songs by jazz greats such as Sidney Bechet, Jelly Roll Morton, Django Reinhardt, Thelonious Monk, Duke Ellington, and Billy Strayhorn. Toussaint and Henry created a band of highly regarded musicians for the sessions: clarinetist Don Byron, trumpeter Nicholas Payton, guitarist Marc Ribot, bassist David Piltch, and percussionist Jay Bellerose. Additionally, pianist Brad Mehldau and saxophonist Joshua Redman each join Toussaint for a track.

Growing up and learning to play the piano in New Orleans, Toussaint knew the music that is on The Bright Mississippi well, although his career tended more toward rock and popular music. He admits that, as a performer, he hadn't tackled material like "West End Blues" and "St. James Infirmary."
"I hadn’t caressed them on my own, except to listen from time to time in passing. I always loved those songs, but I had never been in a setting where that is what I would do for a while. Until now."

He calls the experience of making The Bright Mississippi "wonderful."
"Everything is live, of course. This isn’t the kind of assembly line music where somebody put the wheels on here and somebody put the top on there. Everything got done at the same time, so everybody fed on each other, their personality and tonality." From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 04/21/2009
Label: Nonesuch
UPC: 0075597992878
catalogNumber: 480380
Rank: 38974

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Allen Toussaint   Primary Artist,Piano,Vocals
Don Byron   Clarinet
Marc Ribot   Acoustic Guitar
Joshua Redman   Tenor Saxophone,Guest Appearance
Brad Mehldau   Piano,Guest Appearance
Nicholas Payton   Trumpet
David Piltch   Upright Bass
Jay Bellerose   Percussion,Drums

Technical Credits

Leonard Feather   Composer
Jelly Roll Morton   Composer
Django Reinhardt   Composer
Irving Mills   Composer
Joe Henry   Producer,Liner Notes,Audio Production
Sidney Bechet   Composer
David Bither   Executive Producer
Con Conrad   Composer
Eddie DeLange   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Kevin Killen   Engineer
Thelonious Monk   Composer
Billy Strayhorn   Composer
Clarence Williams   Composer
William Claxton   Cover Photo
C. Williams   Composer
J. Russel Robinson   Composer
Raymond Bloch   Composer
Traditional   Composer
John Reid   Composer
Joe Oliver   Composer
Ronen Givony   Editorial Coordinator
Raymond Bloch   Composer
J. Oliver   Composer

Customer Reviews