The Boy Bands Have Won

The Boy Bands Have Won

by ChumbawambaChumbawamba


$15.30 $15.99 Save 4% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $15.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, June 28


The new acoustic Chumbawamba are now three albums into their career, and they seem to have really got the hang of it with this one. The boy bands haven't won, of course, not when there's creativity like this around. Perhaps they've now settled comfortably enough into their new identity to become more open, but this collection of songs long and short includes drumming, some programming, fuller arrangements here and there with Dixieland, and a stray brass band, a couple of samples (Martin Carthy speaking) and even some guests, in the shape of the Oysterband's Robb Johnson and Roy Bailey -- all folkies with a strong political bent. The songs here actually seem to pick up from where the older version of the band left off with Readymades, hutting notes that are political and poignant -- usually together -- "Refugee" is a perfect example, but there's also plenty of acid wit ("Add Me") and in "Word Bomber" they've made a gorgeous plea for peace that never comes close to the maudlin. They know their strengths and play to them, using harmonies and simple melodies -- witness "Words Can Save Us." Now they're firmly fixed on the folkie side of the aisle, they cock a snoot at trad folk with the delicious "Lord Bateman's Motorbike." The anger might not be as overt as it was in the mid-'90s, but it's still there, and they now seem to thoroughly understand how to mix pop -- of the acoustic folk variety, of course -- and politics in the most natural way. Perhaps surprisingly for a band that's been around for so long, but one of the most satisfying discs of their career.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/24/2008
Label: Free Dirt Records
UPC: 0877746000621
catalogNumber: 6
Rank: 100007


  1. When an Old Man Dies
  2. Add Me
  3. Words Can Save Us
  4. Hull or Hell
  5. El Fusilado
  6. Unpindownable
  7. I Wish That They'd Sack Me
  8. Word Bomber
  9. All Fur Coat & No Knickers
  10. Fine Line
  11. Lord Bateman's Motorbike
  12. A Fine Career
  13. To a Little Radio
  14. (Words Flew) Right Around the World
  15. Sing About Love
  16. Bury Me Deep
  17. You Watched Me Dance
  18. Compliments of Your Waitress
  19. Rip RP
  20. Charlie
  21. The Ogre
  22. Refugee
  23. Same Old Same Old
  24. Waiting for the Bus
  25. What We Want

Album Credits

Customer Reviews